Computer Application Software Guide / Comp 2000: Interface of Microsoft Access

Access Terminology

Table: Contains all data within the database in a spreadsheet-like view called datasheet view.

Relational database: Multiple tables that are linked together to address a business process 

Query: Answers a question about the information in the database by selecting subset of fields and records from one or more tables and presenting the data in a single datasheet.

Form: Provides an easy to use entry screen

Report: Provides a professional presentation of data with headers, footers, graphics, and calculations on groups of records for printing

Field: A specific piece or category of data

record: A group of related fields that describe a person, place, thing, or transaction such as a company or job

Primary Key Field: A field that contains unique information for each record

Objects: The parts of an Access database taht help you view, edit, manage, and analyze the data; Six objects exist within Access : tables, queries, forms, reports, macros, and modules

Field properties: the characteristics that describe each field such as field name, data type, field size, format, input mask, caption, or default value

Types of views:

Form: To find, sort, enter, and edit data

Layout: to modify the size, position, or formatting of controls; shows data as you modify the form.

Design: To modify the form header, detail, and footer section or to access the complete range of controls and form properties. Does not display data

Keyboard Shortcuts for Access 

shortcut keys

Interface of Microsoft Access

Microsoft Access Interface

Access ribbon: stores all primary commands and tabs for Access and occupies the top portion of the main Access screen. The ribbon is divided into six tabs: File, Home, Create, External Data, Database Tools, and Help.

• File Tab: when you click the file tab the office backstage view opens. Backstage view contains several options for opening, creating, saving, Printing, and configuring databases.

• Home Tab: Contains Common commands that will be used often in Access. The home tab allows you to Change views, paste, cut, and copy objects, Sort and filter objects, spell check, format text, etc.

• Create Tab: Contains commands that allow you to create objects in Access. You will spend alot of time using this tab for creating tables, queries, forms, reports, and macros.

• External Data Tab: This tab allows you to integrate Access with other sources of data. Here you can import or export data, establish connections with external databases, work with sharepoint and other platforms.

• Database Tools Tab: Contains commands that deal with the inner workings of Access. Here you will find the commands to create relationships between tables, analyze, repair, and compact your database.

• Help Tab: Provides links for support and training

• Additional to the standard tabs you will see tabs known as Contextual Tabs. These tabs show up as you click on different objects within the database. 

Navigation Pane: Left of screen is the primary navigation aid when working with Access. The pane shows tables, queries, forms, reports, and other object types.

Quick Access Toolbar: Located above the Ribbon. It is a customizable toolbar that allows you to add commands that are used more often for quick access. By default it contains the commands save, undo, redo until others are added. Click the arrow next to the quick access toolbar to add more commands.

Status Bar: located at the bottom of the Access Window. It presents the page view format, current task information, database object, and status of certain commands and indicators.