Microbiology Online has been devised by the Microbiology Society, the largest learned microbiological society in Europe. This inspirational online resource supports the teaching and learning of microbiology in the classroom across the key stages.
Virtual Microbiology Classroom
Bacterial Pathogen Pronunciation Station
Nursing Lecture Notes and Online Study Material for all Subjects - Online Study material and Lecture notes
MicrobeWiki is a free wiki resource on microbes and microbiology, authored by students at many colleges and universities.
Microbiology Homework Exercises
These are homework exercises to accompany Kaiser's "Microbiology" TextMap.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Here are some online educational resources about antibodies.
The BioTopics website gives access to interactive resource material, developed to support the learning and teaching of Biology at a variety of levels.
Microbiology and Immunology On-line from the Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine
The Microbiology Information Portal--NEW!!
Information, current research and relevant technology (including metagenomics, qPCR, real-time PCR, nanotechnology, genomic analysis, DNA sequencing and computational biology) on all aspects of microbiology and molecular biology.
Microbiology for kids
Microbiology Teaching Resources: Virtual Microbiology Classroom
a FREE science education website. The Instructor's Corner offers fully developed biology courses; materials currently used in real, live high school and college-level introductory science classrooms.
free ebooks
MedMyst Microbiology games from Rice University
Youtube channel
Microbial Life - Educational Resources
Microbes: Bacteria in the Human Body | Ask A Biologist
DSMZ - German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures
Learn microbiology taxonomy information.
Frontiers in Cellular and Infection Microbiology
Emerging Infectious Diseases e-journal
Infectious Microbes & Diseases (IMD) is an international open-access peer-reviewed journal that is dedicated to accelerate the dissemination, exchange and utilization of basic, applied and clinical scientific research results related to the field of infectious microbes and infectious diseases.
Emerging Infectious Diseases is a peer-reviewed journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
International Journal of Microbiology
The Normal Bacterial Flora of Humans
Accessed from Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology, this page looks at the bacterial flora of animals: what's normal and what is not.
Microbe Notes is an educational niche blog/website related to microbiology (bacteriology, virology, parasitology, mycology, immunology, molecular biology, biochemistry, etc.) and different branches of biology with an aim to provide study notes to undergraduate and graduate students.
Beyond coronavirus: the virus discoveries transforming biology
Article and reference links
free ebooks
Introduction to Medical Microbiology Ancillary Materials
Microbiology PowerPoint Slides
This OER contains PowerPoint Presentation slides for the Microbiology OpenStax textbook. Chapters 1 - 10 have been uploaded to this platform.
Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience
Microbiology for Allied Health Students
Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology
Laboratory Exercises in Microbiology: Discovering the Unseen World Through Hands-On Investigation
MicroBiology 11th std (TN 11th Microbiology English Medium)
Exercises: Microbiology (Kaiser)
Medical Microbiology, 4th edition
Bad Bug Book: Published by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, this complete online book forcuses on foodborne pathogens.
What You Need to Know About Infectious Disease
Introductory Biology: Evolutionary and Ecological Perspectives
Microbial Threats to Health Emergence, Detection, and Response
What You Need to Know About Infectious Disease
An Emerging Threat to Human, Animal, and Plant Health: Workshop Summary
Rediscovering Biology: Molecular to Global Perspectives
Introduction to Microbiology and Prokaryotic Cell Anatomy
Microbiomes: Health and the Environment
The Big Picture Book of Viruses is intended to serve as both a catalog of virus pictures on the Internet and as an educational resource to those seeking more information about viruses.
Introduction to Food Microbiology
Open stax textbook
Lumen Learning provides a Biology text with various chapters such as The Chemical Foundation of Life and Osmotic Regulation and the Excretory System.
Open stax textbook
Open textbook
This is a General Biology text that is designed for lower division college Biology or advanced high school biology. Can be adopted for use in Open Educational Resources (OER) classes.
Open Stax textbook
This unit contains PowerPoint slides that are in .pptx format for edition and use in face-to-face courses. They closely match the format of the textbook. Instructors can download these files and modify to fit their needs. supplemental material for Concepts of Biology.
This is information to be used for a General Biology I (or Introduction to Biology) course for non-science majors.
Biology 5: Cell Biology and Genetics
open textbook
Open stax textbook
Overview: An introduction to biology intended for non-science majors. Focus areas include chemical foundations, cell structure and division, genetics, and evolution.
open textbook
openstax textbook
Project gutenberg list of biology textbooks
An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology (CC BY-NC-SA)
This textbook is interactive, meaning that although each chapter has text, they also have interactive HTML5 content, such as quizzes, simulations, interactive videos, and images with clickable hotspots. Students receive instant feedback when they complete the interactive content, and therefore, can learn and check their understanding all in one place.
Biofundamentals - University of Colorado
A one- (evolving into two) semester introductory course on the evolutionary, molecular, genetic, genomic & systems foundations of modern biology.
Open Textbook Library
OpenStax CNX
If you’re looking for an all-in-one biology textbook, look no futher. This digital textbook include chapters on cellular structure, the cell cycle, Ecology, plants, animals, the human body and more.
Contributor: Fisher Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.
Contributors: Bartee and Anderson Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
BI102: Survey of Molecular Life and Genetics is intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of genetics, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including the principles of inheritance, genetics, and gene regulation.
Contributors: Bartee and Anderson Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
BI101: Survey of Cellular Biology is intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of cellular biology, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including parts of a cell, metabolism, and homeostasis.
The Principles of Biology sequence (BI 211, 212 and 213) introduces biology as a scientific discipline for students planning to major in biology and other science disciplines. Laboratories and classroom activities introduce techniques used to study biological processes and provide opportunities for students to develop their ability to conduct research.
Searches 380,000+ records from 90+ reputable OER sites
BIOL& 160 - 1st edition (TCC OER textbook)
OER textbook created by TCC faculty Ken Cushman and Kim Harrington, 2019, updated 2020. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
online text about biology
College biology questions & Answers text
View the Principles of Biology – An Introduction to Biological Concepts Textbook (PDF)
Animated Tutorials: General Biology
Sumanas, Inc. develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines.
Extensive list of biology animations and videos covering a wide range of topics from the BBC, McGraw Hill, Carnegie Mellon, and more.
BMCC 101 - Concepts of Biology
An introduction to biology intended for non-majors. Focus areas include chemical foundations, cell structure and division, genetics and evolution.
Biology for Non-Majors I (Lumen)
Biology for Non-Majors I introduces students to the basics of the scientific process, the chemical foundations of life, cell structure and function, photosynthesis, cellular respiration, genetics and inheritance, and evolution. Designed for non-life science majors, this course is the first in a two-part series that completes a survey of biological principles.
Biology for Non-Majors II (Lumen)
Biology for Non-Majors II introduces students to the basics of the scientific process and covers some of biology’s most compelling topics surrounding the history and diversity of life, including discussion on the different kingdoms of life, with focus on plants and animals, as well as an introduction to ecology. Designed for non-life science majors, this course is the second in a two-part series that completes a survey of biological principles.
Human Physiology textbook developed with the assistance of pre-nursing students at Utah State University.
Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course (Liachovitzky)
This Anatomy and Physiology preparatory course covers the foundations on the chemical level, and a basic introduction to cellular level, organ level, and organ system levels. There is also an introduction to homeostasis at the beginning.
Course or textbook
Boundless Anatomy and Physiology
The Boundless Human Physiology textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the intriguing subject of Human Physiology.
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Three volume set. This textbook is an Open Education Resource provided under a Creative Commons license (CC-BY), permitting the copying, printing, repurposing and redistribution of all or some of its contents.
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body
This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology I at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Gran
This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology II at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Gran
Human Biology – Nervous System
This nine chapter biology textbook covers neurons, reflexes, maintaining a healthy nervous system and even includes a glossary at the end.
The overall purpose of this preparatory course textbook is to help students familiarize with some terms and some basic concepts they will find later in the Human Anatomy and Physiology I course.
(Butte College)
A Laboratory Guide to Clinical Hematology by Valentin Villatoro, Michelle
This eBook will be constantly updated, edited, and reviewed as new emerging information arises.
Human Anatomy and Physiology I
Anthony Cooper, John Williams, Anta'sha Jones, and Kendra Merchant
Advances in Biological Tissue Biomechanics
Lee, Chung-Hao; Liao, Jun (2020). Advanced experimental and computational biomechanics have become essential components to better understand the physiological and pathological conditions of biological tissues in the human body.
Available under Creative Commons from Images and content are created by faculty, staff, and students at the University of Texas.
Cell biology tries to answer what life is, where it comes from and how it functions.
This textbook, a remix of other open educational resources, is developed through a Round 15 Textbook Transformation Grant.
Introduction to Molecular and Cell Biology
Textbook
Cell Biology for Health Occupations
Open textbook
Basic Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out - 4e
biology textbook
Resources for college and AP Biology students on genetics and cell biology
This textbook is designed specifically for Kansas State's Biology 198 Class. The course is taught using the studio approach and based on active learning. The studio manual contains all of the learning objectives for each class period and is the record of all student activities. Hence, this textbook is more of a reference tool while the studio manual is the learning tool.
Current Frontiers and Perspectives in Cell Biology
intech textbook
Cells: Molecules and Mechanisms
Open Textbook Library
Open Access Textbook
Structure & Function of Major Cell Components
Open Access Textbook. Part of our definition/description of what it means to be a living thing on Earth includes the assertion that living things are made of cells and cell products. In other words, we consider the cell to be a pretty fundamental structural aspect of life.
Cell Biology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Evolution and Ecology
Open Access Textbook
Open Access Textbook. Basic cellular biology
Biology for Health Professions (OER textbook)
Created by Mt. Hood Community College instructors and published by Open Oregon. "Biology textbook based on the OpenStax biology book" for allied health students. Organized into 15 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
open textbook from Lumen Learning
Openstax textbook
Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience
This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week.
Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology
This textbook has evolved from online and live-in-person lectures presented in my bacteriology courses at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Its contents are suitable for reading or presentation in courses or course modules concerning general microbiology and medical bacteriology at the college and advanced high school levels of education.
Microbiology for Allied Health Sciences
From Galileo
Microbiology PowerPoint Slides
OER Commons
Microbiology OpenStax - additional
Beagley customized the OpenStax textbook content, highlighting keywords that students should follow and linking them to relevant worksheets and videos. Beagley from Salt Lake Community College.
A microbiology textbook.
Bruslind from Oregon State University. In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents.
Contributors: Smith and Selby / Publisher: University System of Georgia
Microbiology for Allied Health Students is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements for the single semester Microbiology course for non-majors and allied health students. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health
Role of Microbes in Human Health and Diseases
Singh Chauhan, Nar (2019) Microbes are ubiquitous and have ecological interactions with almost all life forms. Likewise, humans invariably engage in host-microbial interactions that could induce short-term or long-term effects.
Manjur Shah, Mohammad (2015) Microbiology involves the study of microscopic living organisms. Most of them are unicellular and all the life processes are performed by a single cell. They are associated with the health and welfare of human beings.
Online textbook covers The Molecular Design of Life, Transducing and Storing Energy, Synthesizing the Molecules of Life, and Responding to Environmental Changes.
We are happy to welcome you to our second Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook, Biochemistry Free For All. Biochemistry is a relatively young science, but its rate of growth has been truly impressive.
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
Written by three Chemistry professors for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course.
Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students
Quantitative Ecology: A New Unified Approach
Quantitative Ecology introduces and discusses the principles of ecology from populations to ecosystems including human populations, disease, exotic organisms, habitat fragmentation, biodiversity and global dynamics.
wikibook
Forest Ecology and Conservation
Gopal Shukla; Sumit Chakravarty (2017)
This book is dedicated to forest ecology and conservation on ecological and conservation aspects of forest.
Almusaed, Amjad (2016). This book has been written to present major and efficient applications in landscape ecology, as well as to propose a solid action for this category of topics.
The Bionarrative: The story of life and hope for the future
Boyden, Stephen (2016) important force in the biosphere. The book discusses the evolution of life and the essential ecological processes on which all life, including human civilisation, depend. It describes the conditions of life and ecology of humans in the four ecological phases
Plant Ecology - Traditional Approaches to Recent Trends
Zubaida Yousaf (2017) This book is aimed to cover the phylogenetic and functional ecology with special reference to ecological shifts.
Invasive Species in Forests and Rangelands of the United States
Poland, Therese M.; Patel-Weynand, Toral; Finch, Deborah M.; Miniat, Chelcy Ford; Hayes, Deborah C.; Lopez, Vanessa M. (2021). This open access book describes the serious threat of invasive species to native ecosystems. Invasive species have caused and will continue to cause enormous ecological and economic damage with ever increasing world trade.
open text
wikibook
Actinobacteria and Myxobacteria
Important Resources for Novel Antibiotics
Adamson, Catherine (2020). Antiviral agents are used for the treatment of viral diseases. Antiviral drugs have been successfully developed and used clinically for a limited number of important human viral diseases notably caused by human immunodeficiency
Cell Biology of Viral Infections
Lozach, Pierre-Yves (2021) Viruses exhibit an elegant simplicity as they are so basic, but so frightening. Although only a few are life threatening, they have substantial implications for human health and the economy
Adoga, Moses P. (2012) This book covers various aspects of Molecular Virology.
Current Issues in Molecular Virology
This book is a collection of chapters dealing with examples of RNA and DNA viruses, and issues such as how these gene packages have learnt to take advantage of their hosts
Robertson, David; Hufsky, Franziska; Ibrahim, Bashar; Marz, Manja (2020) Virus bioinformatics is evolving and succeeding as an area of research in its own right, representing the interface of virology and computer science. Bioinformatic approaches to investigate viral infections and outbreaks
Rosas-Acosta, German (2013)
Victor Romanowski; Maria Laura Garcia (2012) those interested in fundamental and applied aspects of virology
Immunopathology and Immunomodulation
Metodiev, Krassimir (2015) firmly hope that the book will be an excellent manual and guideline for people dealing with biology, microbiology, immunology, virology, pharmacology, general and dental medicine, and health care, from students and postdocs to high-level specialists
Desheva, Yulia (2019). Adenoviruses are among the most studied and at the same time most mysterious of viruses. In this book, the authors highlight the achievements in the study of animal and human adenoviruses
Probiotics and Prebiotics in Human Nutrition and Health
Rao, Venketeshwer; Rao, Leticia G. (2016). Probiotic microorganisms are recognised as being beneficial for human health. Prebiotics are substrates that are used preferentially by the probiotic bacteria for their growth.
Medical and molecular virology
BioTechnology Foundations 2nd Edition
By Jack O'Grady, ACC Biology Faculty. Given the broad definition of biotechnology applications and products, it is easy to see how there is enormous overlap within the fields of cellular biology, microbiology, chemistry, and biomedical engineering. It is the goal of this textbook to provide foundational knowledge to begin building your biotechnology toolkit and enter an exciting career of making a difference through biotechnology.
Agbo, Eddy C. (2012) Innovations in Biotechnology provides an authoritative crystallization of some of the evolving leading-edge biomedical research topics and developments in the field of biotechnology
Annotated drawings, drawings, and notes. Click the images and links for full-size documents and drawings
Labs in this book supplement the information gained in lecture, as well as providing some perspective and experience with hands-on applications of ideas in pest management.
From OpenStax CNX
Are you interested in the biodiversity of bacteria, fungi and animals? This Flexbook goes into detail on each as well as the biodiversity of many others.
Evolutionary, molecular, and systems biology with genomes and genetics.
Working with Molecular Genetics (Hardison)
Libretexts
Dig deeper into genetics with an entire digital textbook on the subject. This Flexbook includes chapters covering DNA, chromosomes, cell division and gene disorder.
Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.
This course uses the basic principles of biology and earth science as a context for understanding environmental policies and resource management practices. Our planet is facing unprecedented environmental challenges, from oil spills to global climate change. In ENSC 1000, you will learn about the science behind these problems; preparing you to make an informed, invaluable contribution to Earth's future.
Environmental Biology Textbook (OpenOregon)
Open textbook “designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand.
