Civil Engineering: Building Materials & Projects

Asphalt is a mixture of aggregates, binder and filler, used for constructing and maintaining roads, parking areas, railway tracks, ports, airport runways, bicycle lanes, sidewalks and also play- and sport areas.

Asphalt: Its Composition, Properties and Uses
by Ralph Newton Traxler - Reinhold Pub. Corp. , 1961

National Asphalt Pavement Association

Asphalt Pavements

bitumen 

Aluminum Association

Industry news, standards, statistics, buyers guide.

All about Aluminium

Aluminum Alloys - Mechanical Properties

Introduction of Aluminium Material

Brick 

Resources for AEC Professionals - RCP Block & Brick

Archtoolbox

Manufacturing of Bricks

Fly Ash Bricks

Audels masons and builders guide #1

The Brick Industry Association : technical notes

Cement 

Cement-Based Composites

High Performance Concrete Technology and Applications
by Salih Yilmaz, Hayri Baytan Ozmen (eds) - InTech , 2016
Researchers and engineers are constantly working on improving concrete properties. This book provides the state of the art on recent progress in the high-performance concrete applications written by researchers and experts in the field.

Types of Cement – Properties and Uses in Construction

Physical Properties of Cement

12 Types of Concrete

Types of Metals used in Civil Engineering

Light Metal Alloys Applications
by Waldemar A. Monteiro (ed.) - InTech , 2014
Lightweight alloys have become of great importance for construction of transportation equipment. Many alloys have appropriately high strength to warrant their use for structural purposes, and the weight of equipment has been considerably decreased.

MatWeb, Your Source for Materials Information

Overview of Physical Properties of Metals

Steel is common in the design of beams, frames, columns, and trusses.

SteelWorks

American Iron & Steel Institute. News, markets, industries. The Learning Center tabs leads to "How Steel is Made" and more information.

steel metallurgy

Steel 

Engineering Steels and High Entropy-Alloys

The Steel Construction Information System

This website is very useful if you want to know anything about steel construction.

Wood in Civil Engineering 

Wood is a natural building material: if used in building elements, it can play structural, functional and aesthetic roles at the same time. The use of wood in buildings, which goes back to the oldest of times, is now experiencing a period of strong expansion in virtue of the sustainable dimension of wood buildings from the environmental, economic and social standpoints.

Timber 

Wood Handbook: Wood as an Engineering Material
by Richard Bergman, et al. - Forest Products Laboratory , 2010
This handbook is intended to serve as a primary reference on the use of wood in a variety of applications -- from general construction to use of wood for decorative purposes. It provides a source of information on the various properties of wood.

Bridges

This site Building offers information on bridge design, engineering, construction, and history. It has photographs and diagrams that illustrate the many bridge types, discussions on bridge appearance, the forces on a bridge, oscillations of bridges, the problems encountered with bridge use and construction, and many other topics with links to related resources, including sites on individual bridges, specific types of bridges, bridge builders and designers, engineering institutes and societies.

Bridge Engineering Home Page

This page has links to government agencies, universities, research institutions, associations, companies, publications, software, bridge management systems, and online exhibits.

Bridge Technology

This site from the Federal Highway Administration has publications, an event calendar, policy documents, links, and news.

Bridge Engineering 

Hamid Yaghoubi (2018) A bridge is a structure built to span the physical obstacles without closing the way underneath, such as a body of water, valley, or road, for the purpose of providing the passage over the obstacle.

Structural Bridge Engineering 

Mohd Haziman Wan Ibrahim; Norwati Jamaluddin; Noorwirdawati Ali; Shahrul Niza Mokhatar; Zainorizuan Mohd Jaini; Shahiron Shahidan (2016)

Bridge Construction Equipment

BridgeSite

Bridge engineering resource site. Includes links to bridge engineering associations, product manufacturers, bridge consultants, government agencies, events and conferences, and other bridge-related Web resources.

Bridges Statistics and Conditions U.S.

National Bridge Inventory Database

Bridge Design

Tunnel Engineering

American Wood Council

The AWC has standards for wood design and construction, and many free items including online courses, calculators, and some of their publications.

Advanced Building Technologies and Practices

This site provides descriptions of environmentally appropriate building technologies and practices that can improve energy and resource efficiency. This site also has case studies, and links to related web resources.

FreeCAD – an open source, customizable, parametric 3D modeler.

ARCAT

Whole Building Design 

Building Design and Construction Handbook

Construction Technology 101

This course is a comprehensive study of the principles of Construction Technology. It applies the concepts of modern carpentry, engineering and technology, utilizing the framework of green and sustainability to residential and commercial construction. 

Dam Engineering

World Commission on Dams

Homepage of the international commission; includes links to full-text dam study reports.

Breakwaters and Closure Dams 

Water Resources Engineering

United States Society on Dams 

offers general information on dams, their benefits, links to related organizations

Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO)

Hydraulics and Electrical Control of Hydraulic Systems

American Railway Engineering Maintenance-of-Way Association

A professional association for railway engineering personnel that offers numerous educational opportunities and produces and publishes the recommended practices for railway engineering infrastructure including track, structures and communications & signals.

Railway Engineering Science

The Association of American Railroads (AAR)

Federal Railroad Administration

American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA)

International Union of Railways (UIC)

Promotes rail transport and meets the challenges of mobility and sustainable development.

National Cooperative Rail Research Program (NCRRP)

Conducts research on problems of interest to freight, intercity, and commuter rail practitioners

US High Speed Rail Association (US HSR)

Organization focused on advancing a state-of-the-art high speed rail network across the U.S.

Railroad Data

Provides links to over 5,000 railroad websites.

Railway Technology

Provides news, analysis, and in-depth reports on railway industry technology.

Railway Research: Selected Topics on Development, Safety and Technology
by Krzysztof Zboinski (ed.) - InTech , 2015
This book focuses on selected research problems of contemporary railways: safety and security problems in general, the question of railway infrastructure, modern systems for the technical condition monitoring of railway tracks, etc.

U.S. Department of Transportation

The DOT home page is a gateway to its programs in air, rail, highway, marine, and intermodal transportation and transportation statistics, research, and safety, adjudication, regulations, and rulemaking, administrative functions, careers, and education in transportation-related fields. There are also links to transportation and other government web pages.

American Association of State Highway and Transportation (AASHTO) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. It represents all transportation modes including: air, highways, public transportation, active transportation, rail, and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation, and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

National Highway Specifications

Allows searching of State and FHWA standard highway specifications books, construction manuals, and standard drawing details.

Institute of Transportation Engineers

Homepage of one of the largest multimodal professional transportation organizations; includes access to the ITE Journal, transportation standards, and professional directories.

National Transportation Library

The NTL maintains a metadata repository for information about digital documents preserved in its online collection and for links to other web accessible resources.

Advanced Asphalt Materials and Paving Technologies

Electric Systems for Transportation

Classification of roads in civil engineering based on different factors

Highway Engineering

Cities Safer by Design
by Ben Welle et al. - World Resources Institute , 2015
This is a global reference guide to help cities save lives from traffic fatalities through improved street design and smart urban development. This guide taps examples from cities worldwide and includes 34 different design elements to improve safety.

Laboratory Manual in Highway Engineering by Duggal, Ajay. K. Puri, Vijay P.

ISBN: 9788122444919

Publication Date: 2017

Basic Water Treatment, Fifth edition

National Ground Water Association

An organization for contractors, researchers, and the public focusing on ground water quality and use.

Ports and Waterways: Navigating the changing world

Breakwaters and Closure Dams

Hydraulics/Pneumatics

Water Resource Systems Planning and Management