Environmental Protection & Preservation
BuildingGreen Suite gives information on green design in a membership-based website format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality.
Energy and Environmental Building Alliance
The EEBA promotes the awareness, education and development of energy efficient, environmentally responsible buildings and communities. Their web site offers news, organizational information, an events calendar, and access to other related web resources.
The USGBC promotes and develops green building practices. It has standards, policies, case studies.
The Ecological Building Network is an open group of engineers, builders, and architects who develop and disseminate best technologies for the built environment. The information provided is geared toward reducing negative impacts of buildings on the environment, while preserving health and safety.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The Environmental Protection Agency is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters.
The Association for Environment Conscious Building (AECB)
This network of builders, architects, designers, manufacturers, students, educators, housing associations, and local authorities develop, share, and promote best practices in environmentally sustainable building. The site includes an extensive online library of focused publications such as Building Fabric -- Why Engineers Should Be Involved, conference presentations, case studies, annual reports, and the AECB Newsletter.
Materials and Structural Systems Division | NIST
Materials and Structural Systems Division serves as the world-class resource for developing and promoting the use of science-based tools – measurements, data, models, protocols, and reference standards – to enhance both the global competitiveness of U.S. industry through innovations in building materials and construction technology; and the safety, security, and sustainability of the nation's buildings and physical infrastructure.
Geospatial Data Science Data and Tools
explore data resources.
Envirolink: The Online Environmental Community
National Center for Environmental Information (NCEI): Geophysics Data
Contains data related to geophysics that is maintained by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NOAA.
National Environmental Publications Information System (NEPIS)
This open access (freely available) journal article is a guide to websites and resources on sustainable buildings.
Environment & Safety Resource Center
Includes laws, regulations, government documents, Bloomberg Environment analyses, case studies, and news related to environmental safety.
Air and Waste Management Association (AWMA)
The American Water Works Association is an international nonprofit scientific and educational society dedicated to the improvement of water quality and supply.
Contains useful links and recommended websites including directories and open access journals and technical reports on water engineering topics.
Mission: The advancement of International Structural Engineering Practice, Research and Education, through the classification and integration of worldwide Structural Engineering Information and the development of tools, resources and Professional activities.
basic concepts stability structure
information from the constructor website
Elasticity is a crucial characteristic of building materials; if it were not, buildings would suffer continuous deformation under load and ultimately would collapse.
CE 579: STRUCTRAL STABILITY AND DESIGN
by Amit H. Varma, Assistant Professor at the School of Civil Engineering, Purdue University
Aidy Ali (2018) This book covers recent advances in the method used in testing, especially in the case of structural integrity that includes fatigue and fracture tests, vibrations test and surface engineering tests that are extremely crucial and widely used
Introduction to structural integrity
free Course
Center for Sustainable Systems Factsheets
Informative factsheets with statistics and charts on topics such as energy, material resources, sustainability indicators, climate change, and more.
SAFAS - A great website to learn structural engineering.
Handbook of Seismic Risk Analysis and Management of Civil Infrastructure Systems by 
Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction by 
Construction Law by 
Occupational Safety and Health for Technologists, Engineers, and Managers by Earth Quake resistance
This glossary from the U.S. Geological Survey's Earthquake Hazards Program contains nearly 200 earthquake-related terms. Each term is linked to a page containing much additional information including illustrations.
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
This site offers earthquake engineering data, software, an archive of more than 100,000 searchable abstracts, a database of technical reports, and reports on recent major earthquakes. This site also has several image and photograph databases.
MCEER: Earthquake Engineering to Extreme Events
A national center dedicated to the discovery and development of new knowledge, tools and technologies that equip communities to become more disaster resilient in the face of earthquakes and other extreme events.
National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC)
"NEIC compiles and maintains an extensive, global seismic database on earthquake parameters and their effects that serves as a solid foundation for basic and applied earth science research." description from web site
Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research
Consortium of researchers and institutions involved in earthquake and related research. Links to sites on research, information services, publications, education, partnerships, conferences, and outreach.
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute
The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) is a national, nonprofit, technical society focused on reducing the risks associated with earthquakes.
Moustafa, Abbas (2015) The book Earthquake Engineering - From Engineering Seismology to Optimal Seismic Design of Engineering Structures contains fifteen chapters written by researchers and experts in the fields of earthquake and structural engineering.
Surveying
Acquire soil data from sites in the US.
Resources for Land Owners, Legal and Real Estate Professionals
GEORGIA BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS & LAND SURVEYORS
United States Soil Surveys - by State
This Web site lists soil surveys that have been published by the U.S. Department of Agriculture since 1899
U.S. Geological Survey Groundwater Glossary
National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying
This site will let you know different regulations for different states for surveying. You can also link onto many other websites. Including a link to see an aerial photo of a certain address.
SPEAKER
Ronald D. Ziemian, PhD
4/16/2020
Fire Protection Engineering deals with the detection, suppression, and mitigation of fire and smoke by using science and engineering principles.
Fire Resistance & Safety
Building and Fire Research Laboratory
This laboratory from the National Institute of Standards and Technology studies building materials; computer-integrated construction practices; fire science and fire safety engineering; and structural, mechanical, and environmental engineering.
Engineered Structural Safety: Earth, Wind, and Now Fire
fire engineering site
Collection of resources from the Building and Fire Research Laboratory's Fire Research Division at NIST. Provides links to fire related software, experimental fire data, and movies of fire tests.”
National Fire Protection Association Codes
These are free, but you must set up an account
Building Codes
Building Codes Assistance Project
This web site has updates on the status of state building energy codes, conferences, courses, links to federal, state, advocacy, professional, and industry organizations concerned with building energy efficiency and codes, technical papers, and technical assistance.
Green Building Codes [U.S. Department of Energy]
This DOE web site includes information, resources, technical assistance, publications, model adoption policies, compliance software and tools, and training modules based on best practices. Building energy codes experts are available to answer specific questions submitted through the web-based help desk.
AISC Standards, Codes, and Specifications
Free to download
National Highway Specifications
Allows searching of State and FHWA standard highway specifications books, construction manuals, and standard drawing details.
ICC Digital Codes: Georgia Building Codes
A platform for searching and accessing local municipal government codes and regulations by county and city.
Structural Safety is an international journal devoted to integrated risk assessment for a wide range of constructed facilities such as buildings, bridges, earth structures, offshore facilities, dams, lifelines and nuclear structural systems.
Journal of Structural Engineering
This journal offers peer-reviewed, open access material such as original research articles and review articles in the various areas of civil engineering.
Designing & Remodeling a Home [U.S. Department of Energy]
This site offers information on energy efficiency when designing a new home or remodeling an existing one. Information on Sunrooms & Sunspaces; Incentives & Financing for Energy Efficient Homes; Cool Roofs; Energy Efficient Manufactured Homes among other topics is provided. An Energy Saver Guide is downloadable as a PDF document.
This site offers decision-making tools and resources for designing, building, and operating more energy-efficient buildings
This resource was developed by the National Institute of Building Sciences and provides a "whole systems" look at construction, project management, operations, and maintenance towards the goal of building more sustainable facilities.
Energy Information Administration
Official Energy Statistics from the US Government, including renewable, alternative and non-renewable sources of energy.
National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse
Provides information and links for the transportation, construction industry, and the general public to improve motorist, worker and pedestrian safety in roadway work zones.
safety issues, publications, and more
Recommended Practices for Safety & Health Programs in Construction 2016
safety recommendations from osha
