BIOL 1112: Plants / Animals
Provides an introduction to basic animal and plant diversity, structure and function, including reproduction and development, and the dynamics of ecology as it pertains to populations, communities, ecosystems, and biosphere. Topics include classification and characterizations of organisms, plant structure and function, animal structure and function, principles of ecology, and biosphere.
Animal Diversity Web (ADW)
University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology site that provides a searchable encyclopedia of animal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology facilitating inquiry driven learning where students can learn the biology of species and share their work worldwide.
All About Birds
Cornell Lab of Ornithology site that provides basics for first timers, online guides for bird identification, gear guide, attracting birds, conservation and additional resources on bird sounds, video, news, events and eBirds that permits tracking and reporting of birds.
WormAtlas
A database of behavioral and structural anatomy of Caenorhabditis elegans (C.elegans) that includes information on worm anatomy, fine structure, individual neurons, cell identification, glossary, lineage tree, and other news, notes, images, and a worm community forum.
Videos and more
Animal Info & Endangered Animals
If you are looking for a specific species, use the Individual Species Index, which includes common and scientific names. Use the Species Group Index to browse through a list of the common names of each species grouped by category
American Society of Mammalogists (ASM)
The American Society of Mammalogists (ASM) was established in 1919 for the purpose of promoting interest in the study of mammals.
Center for Biological Diversity
National U.S. group using science, law and creative media to protect the lands, waters and climate that species need to survive.
This 13-minute video lesson looks at the science of taxonomy and where humans fit into the tree of life. Khan Academy
University of Pennsylvania: Online Books Page- Zoology
Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. Most the books listed are in the public domain or special permission has been granted to provide the book online.
Botany Online--The Internet Hypertextbook
An html textbook by Alice Bergfeld, Rolf Bergmann, and Peter Sengbusch, originally produced in German at the University of Hamburg. Scroll down for links to heavily illustrated pages in English on botanical history, plant anatomy, genetics, and more. Now hosted on a Michigan State University server.
Tissues and cells of root, stem, and leaf anatomy in both dicots and monocots are investigated in this learning activity.
Plant growth regulators, including auxin, gibberellin, cytokinin, abscisic acid, and ethylene, are investigated in this learning activity to demonstrate how these chemicals (hormones) affect plant growth and development.
"Welcome to Botany Depot, a global website for creative ideas and materials for teaching botany in the 21st century for all ages and levels. Here you can find links to resources, stories and publications, lesson plans, manuals, figures, and a lot more – all shared by active botanical educators."
text
Youtube videos
Professor Dave Explains. Youtube videos
Youtube videos from crash course
Yuotube video playlist
Provides a single source of standardized information about plants
The history of Botany
Crash course video lessons
module
wikibook
NASA
Introduction to Ecology (Open Course)
Introduction to Ecology is an open course remix of the OpenStax Biology open textbook. The remix includes a modular revision of parts of the text with supplemental questions added.
Plant and animal biology / by A.E. Vines and N. Rees.
NCBI Taxonomy
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Index to Organism Names (ION)
Contains millions of animals names, both fossil and recent, reported from the scientific literature, which provides a powerful foundation for the most complete collection of organism names available today.
What Tree is That?
An illustrated site from The National Arbor Day Foundation, that helps to identify trees by their leaves, seeds, and fruit. The illustrations help to identify characteristics, and takes a "step-by-step" approach to arrive at the names of specific trees.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries cooperate to digitize and make available the information in their collections.
Common Names of Plant Diseases
Search this database of plant disease names or browse the table of contents. Ninety-six common plant names are given, each with a listing of bacterial, fungal, parasitic, and viral diseases that effect them. Common and latin names of diseases are provided. Produced by the American Phytopathological Society.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Find information on various taxa by scientific or vernacular name.
Louisiana State Univ Herbarium Glossary with images
FishBase: Claims to be able to provide "all you ever wanted to know about fishes". This includes information on fish biology, taxonomy (searching by common and scientific names), morphology, ecology, and conservation.
The fox website: Everything about foxes, maintained by the Mammal Group, University of Bristol.
Mammal image library: An extensive mammal image repository.
National Marine Mammal Laboratory: US laboratory, which is responsible for conducting research on marine mammals, with a particular focus on the coasts of Oregon, Washington and Alaska. Includes links to marine mammal information sources and an excellent collection of images.
Orthoptera & allied insects: Dedicated to the study of orthoptera (grasshoppers and crickets).
Pictorial Skeletal Atlas of Fishes: Extensive image gallery of fish bones and skeletal details created by Florida Museum of Natural History.
Smithsonian Institute Department of Invertebrate Zoology
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institute Department of Vertebrate Zoology
National Museum of Natural History
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
This is an online collection of images, video, audio, documents, and maps, all relating to the Fish and Wildlife Service.
Animal Dissection Images Library (CC BY)
A collection of dissection images from the British Columbia Institute of Technology.
Anatomical atlas of flies: A very detailed exploration of the fly's anatomy.
Bombus - bumblebees for the world: A rich listing of information of bumblebees created by Natural History Museum.
Vitual Library of Botany / Plant Biology
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The International Plant Names Index
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Botanicus is made possible through support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, W.M. Keck Foundation, and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
A collaboratively created open access depository of biodiversity literature and archives.
FReD (Floral Reflectance Database)
Containing the data of spectral reflectances of over 2000 species of flowers, created through a collaboration between Queen Mary PhD students and researchers at Royal Botanical Garden, Kew. Does also offer interesting insights about how bees see colour.
Includes datasheets covering species, which threatens natural habitats and the management thereof.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Assesses the global conservation status of plant and animal species from around the world. It evaluates the extinction risk of thousands of species and subspecies and recognised as the most authoritative guide to the status of biological diversity.
Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
author Biolympiads