The Biology Project
An interactive resource for learning biology
Cells alive!, created by James A. Sullivan, represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. Cells Alive provides great annimations and videos, many available for downloading for classroom use. The majority of the site is free of cost.
Educational resource materials by the
American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
animated cells and text
Allows you to be a pathologist. The user is presented several case studies, including symptoms, examination and test results and an "interactive cadaver" to help you determine the cause of death.
Online educational programming to engage educators, students, and the public.
Action Bioscience
The web site provides peer-reviewed articles by scientists, science educators and students on issues related to seven bioscience challenges: environment, biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, new frontiers, and biology education. Articles are accompanied by lessons, written by educators, for high school and undergraduate levels, correlated to national standards (NSES).
The Biology Corner
Lesson plans, work sheets and class activities.
Discover Life
Provides free online tools to identify species, share ways to teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from an encyclopedia of life that now contains 277,759 species. Consult sections on nature guides, conservation, globe mapping, invasives, links, study sites, and more. It serves as a biological encyclopedia.
Human Anatomy Online
The site includes descriptions of the body's systems, tutorials and animations of functions.
The Whole Brain Atlas
The site includes images, animations of brain structures, vascular anatomy and a wide range of brain diseases.
The Bioman site provides games and virtual labs about a variety of biology topics. Some examples include physiology, cells, evolution, genetics, and the scientific method.
On this page, you will find an assortment of biology-related games. Topics covered include biochemistry, cells, biodiversity, and genetics.
The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
Animated Tutorials: General Biology
Sumanas, Inc. develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines.
This site provides a "series of interactive illustrations and concise text narrations" to help students better understand "the structures and functions of the human body"---a great study tool!
HippoCampus.org provides thousands of video tutorials for a variety of college courses, including biology.
BiologyInMotion - Biology Activities and Exhibits Online
Welcome to BiologyInMotion! Here you will find animations, interactive activities, and cartoons designed to make learning biology a richer, more engaging experience.
Biology Labs On-Line is an open access web site that offers a series of 12 interactive, inquiry-based biology simulations and exercises designed for college and AP high school biology students.
Classroom Explorations offers activities that will teach you about traits of life, microscopy, math in science, research tools, genetics, and developmental biology.
The LifeDiscoveryEd Digital Library
The LifeDiscoveryEd Digital Library is an online resource portal for biology education in ecology, plant biology and evolution.
Virtual Biology Lab is a free, online educational resource provided for educational purposes. VBL simulates natural environments with the way life responds to changing conditions.
The Virtual Biology Experiments
Rutgers University offers lab exercises in cell structure, cell reproduction, and chromosome structure and meiosis. Students will work through the labs with step by step instructions.
Web Adventures From Rice University
This website offers interactive games that will teach students about the Scientific Method, Cholera, or the Pox Virus as if they were the scientist researching the disease.
From script to screen, we provide custom education and communication services for every client.
a group of activities aimed at teaching students about bones and human anatomy. These include experiments, anatomy lessons, and special online virtual viewers that allow students to look at the skeleton and inside of bones, at macro and microscopic levels. Created by Arizona State University's Ask A Biologist and the Arizona Science Center
Scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Laboratory Exercises in Microbiology: Discovering the Unseen World Through Hands-On Investigation
Gizmos Online Simulations - Biology
help you deepen your understanding of basic concepts in genetics, as well as to practice and refine the skills needed to solve common problems in genetic analysis.
Vision Learning
Library of peer-reviewed modules, glossary of science terms, and custom courses across STEM disciplines. “The content is aligned with the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).”
Biology OER (City Tech Open Lab)
Good website for information on infection control. Interactive, Multimedia website with several educational games such as, hangman, crossword puzzles, and flashcards. Includes quizzes and test on infection control.
Explore the inner workings of the human body with fun games and puzzles.
This helpful chart is a great reference for remembering the six classifications of organisms: archaebacteria, eubacteria, protists, fungi, plants, and animals.
3-D Animations of the Human Cell
Get an up-close and personal look at each organelle that makes up a cell.
Biology Online provides free learning resources on major areas of biology. It has tutorials, a scientific dictionary, and articles that cover a multitude of topics in biology. There is also has a Biology Forum for the online community.