Human Physiology 

Human Physiology textbook developed with the assistance of pre-nursing students at Utah State University. 

Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course (Liachovitzky) 

This Anatomy and Physiology preparatory course covers the foundations on the chemical level, and a basic introduction to cellular level, organ level, and organ system levels. There is also an introduction to homeostasis at the beginning.

Anatomy and Physiology II 

Course or textbook

Boundless Anatomy and Physiology 

The Boundless Human Physiology textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the intriguing subject of Human Physiology.

Anatomy and Physiology

Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.

Anatomy & Physiology

Three volume set. This textbook is an Open Education Resource provided under a Creative Commons license (CC-BY), permitting the copying, printing, repurposing and redistribution of all or some of its contents.

The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body

 Basic Anatomy and Physiology

UGA Anatomy and Physiology 1 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition

This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology I at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Gran

UGA Anatomy and Physiology 2 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition

This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology II at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Gran

Human Biology – Nervous System 

This nine chapter biology textbook covers neurons, reflexes, maintaining a healthy nervous system and even includes a glossary at the end.

Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course

The overall purpose of this preparatory course textbook is to help students familiarize with some terms and some basic concepts they will find later in the Human Anatomy and Physiology I course.

Human Biology 

(Butte College)

A Laboratory Guide to Clinical Hematology by Valentin Villatoro, Michelle

This eBook will be constantly updated, edited, and reviewed as new emerging information arises.

Human Anatomy and Physiology I
Anthony Cooper, John Williams, Anta'sha Jones, and Kendra Merchant

Advances in Biological Tissue Biomechanics

Lee, Chung-Hao; Liao, Jun (2020). Advanced experimental and computational biomechanics have become essential components to better understand the physiological and pathological conditions of biological tissues in the human body.

eSkeletons

Available under Creative Commons from Images and content are created by faculty, staff, and students at the University of Texas.

Human Biology

From Growing to Biology: Plants 1e 

Textbook

Plants and Environment 

The main intention of this publication is to provide a state-of-the-art and up-to-date knowledge of recent developments in understanding of plant responses to major abiotic stresses, limitations and the current status of crop improvement.

Intech-Botany

This book is devoted to botany and covers topical issues in this diverse area of study. The contributions are designed for researchers, graduate students and professionals.

Study Guide to the Science of Botany

A text in progress, provides an outline of plant science elements. Wiki version plus pdf and word versions.

Botany Online: The Internet Hypertextbook by multiple scholars.

History and Science of Cultivated Plants 

History and Science of Cultivated Plants narrates how humans transitioned from foragers to farmers and have arrived at present-day industrial agriculture-based civilization.

Advances in Plant Alkaloid Research

D'Auria, John C. (2020) Plant alkaloids are critical components of modern medicine and pharmaceuticals. These compounds are also becoming increasingly important for industrial uses as part of the green chemistry revolution. 

Air Pollution and Plant Ecosystems

Agathokleous, Evgenios; Carrari, Elisa; Sicard, Pierre (2020). Biotransformation has accompanied mankind since the Neolithic community, when people settled down and began to engage in agriculture. Modern biocatalysis started in the mid-1850s with the pioneer works of Pasteur.

Study Guide to the Science of Botany

A text in progress, provides an outline of plant science elements. Wiki version plus pdf and word versions.

Botany

LibreTexts

 Botany 

(OER) (Ha, Morrow, and Algiers) Libretexts

Introduction to Botany (OER ebook) / Alexey Shipunov 

Associate Professor (Biology) at Minot State University. From LibreTexts libraries.

Plant Biology textbook 

by Terence M. Murphy, Thomas L. Rost, Michael G. Barbour. 2014

Project Gutenberg: Botany / QK call number 

Open Access books from Project Gutenberg classed as botanical works in the LC call number QK. Mostly older titles, but some current.

Cell Biology 

Cell biology tries to answer what life is, where it comes from and how it functions.

Fundamentals of Cell Biology 

This textbook, a remix of other open educational resources, is developed through a Round 15 Textbook Transformation Grant.

Introduction to Molecular and Cell Biology 

Textbook

Cell Biology for Health Occupations 

Open textbook

Basic Cell and Molecular Biology: What We Know & How We Found Out - 4e 

biology textbook

Scitable by Nature Education

Resources for college and AP Biology students on genetics and cell biology

Principles of Biology

This textbook is designed specifically for Kansas State's Biology 198 Class. The course is taught using the studio approach and based on active learning. The studio manual contains all of the learning objectives for each class period and is the record of all student activities. Hence, this textbook is more of a reference tool while the studio manual is the learning tool.

Current Frontiers and Perspectives in Cell Biology 

intech textbook

Cells: Molecules and Mechanisms

Open Textbook Library

Cell Biology and Genetics 

Open Access Textbook

Structure & Function of Major Cell Components 

Open Access Textbook. Part of our definition/description of what it means to be a living thing on Earth includes the assertion that living things are made of cells and cell products. In other words, we consider the cell to be a pretty fundamental structural aspect of life. 

Cell Biology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Evolution and Ecology 

Open Access Textbook

Inside the Cell 

Open Access Textbook. Basic cellular biology

Biology for Health Professions (OER textbook) 

Created by Mt. Hood Community College instructors and published by Open Oregon. "Biology textbook based on the OpenStax biology book" for allied health students. Organized into 15 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Human Biology

Boundless Microbiology 

open textbook from Lumen Learning

Microbiology 

Openstax textbook

Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience 

This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week.

Todar's Online Textbook of Bacteriology 

This textbook has evolved from online and live-in-person lectures presented in my bacteriology courses at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Its contents are suitable for reading or presentation in courses or course modules concerning general microbiology and medical bacteriology at the college and advanced high school levels of education.

Microbiology for Allied Health Sciences

From Galileo

Microbiology PowerPoint Slides

OER Commons

Microbiology OpenStax - additional

Beagley customized the OpenStax textbook content, highlighting keywords that students should follow and linking them to relevant worksheets and videos. Beagley from Salt Lake Community College.

Microbiology Webbed Out

A microbiology textbook.

Microbiology

Bruslind from Oregon State University. In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents.

Microbiology for Allied Health Students

Contributors: Smith and Selby / Publisher: University System of Georgia

Microbiology for Allied Health Students is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements for the single semester Microbiology course for non-majors and allied health students. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health

Role of Microbes in Human Health and Diseases 

Singh Chauhan, Nar (2019) Microbes are ubiquitous and have ecological interactions with almost all life forms. Likewise, humans invariably engage in host-microbial interactions that could induce short-term or long-term effects.

Microbiology in Agriculture and Human Health 

Manjur Shah, Mohammad (2015) Microbiology involves the study of microscopic living organisms. Most of them are unicellular and all the life processes are performed by a single cell. They are associated with the health and welfare of human beings.

Medical Microbiology, 4th edition

ViralZone

Biochemistry, 5th edition 

Online textbook covers The Molecular Design of Life, Transducing and Storing Energy, Synthesizing the Molecules of Life, and Responding to Environmental Changes.

Biochemistry: Free For All

We are happy to welcome you to our second Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook, Biochemistry Free For All. Biochemistry is a relatively young science, but its rate of growth has been truly impressive.

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry

Written by three Chemistry professors for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course.

Biochemistry for Nurses

Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students

Quantitative Ecology: A New Unified Approach 

Quantitative Ecology introduces and discusses the principles of ecology from populations to ecosystems including human populations, disease, exotic organisms, habitat fragmentation, biodiversity and global dynamics.

Applied Ecology 

wikibook

Forest Ecology and Conservation 

Gopal Shukla; Sumit Chakravarty (2017)

This book is dedicated to forest ecology and conservation on ecological and conservation aspects of forest.

Landscape Ecology 

Almusaed, Amjad (2016). This book has been written to present major and efficient applications in landscape ecology, as well as to propose a solid action for this category of topics.

The Bionarrative: The story of life and hope for the future 

Boyden, Stephen (2016) important force in the biosphere. The book discusses the evolution of life and the essential ecological processes on which all life, including human civilisation, depend. It describes the conditions of life and ecology of humans in the four ecological phases

Plant Ecology - Traditional Approaches to Recent Trends 

Zubaida Yousaf (2017) This book is aimed to cover the phylogenetic and functional ecology with special reference to ecological shifts.

Invasive Species in Forests and Rangelands of the United States 

Poland, Therese M.; Patel-Weynand, Toral; Finch, Deborah M.; Miniat, Chelcy Ford; Hayes, Deborah C.; Lopez, Vanessa M. (2021). This open access book describes the serious threat of invasive species to native ecosystems. Invasive species have caused and will continue to cause enormous ecological and economic damage with ever increasing world trade. 

Human Biology - Ecology 

open text

Quantitative Ecology: A New Unified Approach

Understanding Biodiversity

Anatomy and Physiology of Animals (Lawson) 

Libretext

Introductory Animal Physiology  

LibreTexts - used by University of Toronto Mississauga)

Anatomy and Physiology of Animals  

Open Textbook Library 

Assessing the Environmental Adaptation of Wildlife and Production Animals

Narayan, Edward (2021). Wild animals under human care as well as domesticated farm production animals are often exposed to environmental changes

Zoology

Intech

Virology 

wikibook

Actinobacteria and Myxobacteria 

Important Resources for Novel Antibiotics

Antiviral Agents

Adamson, Catherine (2020). Antiviral agents are used for the treatment of viral diseases. Antiviral drugs have been successfully developed and used clinically for a limited number of important human viral diseases notably caused by human immunodeficiency

Cell Biology of Viral Infections

Lozach, Pierre-Yves (2021) Viruses exhibit an elegant simplicity as they are so basic, but so frightening. Although only a few are life threatening, they have substantial implications for human health and the economy

Molecular Virology 

Adoga, Moses P. (2012) This book covers various aspects of Molecular Virology.

Current Issues in Molecular Virology 

This book is a collection of chapters dealing with examples of RNA and DNA viruses, and issues such as how these gene packages have learnt to take advantage of their hosts

Virus Bioinformatics 

Robertson, David; Hufsky, Franziska; Ibrahim, Bashar; Marz, Manja (2020) Virus bioinformatics is evolving and succeeding as an area of research in its own right, representing the interface of virology and computer science. Bioinformatic approaches to investigate viral infections and outbreaks

Viral Replication 

Rosas-Acosta, German (2013)

Viral Genomes - Molecular Structure, Diversity, Gene Expression Mechanisms and Host-Virus Interactions 

Victor Romanowski; Maria Laura Garcia (2012) those interested in fundamental and applied aspects of virology

Immunopathology and Immunomodulation 

Metodiev, Krassimir (2015) firmly hope that the book will be an excellent manual and guideline for people dealing with biology, microbiology, immunology, virology, pharmacology, general and dental medicine, and health care, from students and postdocs to high-level specialists

Adenoviruses 

Desheva, Yulia (2019). Adenoviruses are among the most studied and at the same time most mysterious of viruses. In this book, the authors highlight the achievements in the study of animal and human adenoviruses

Probiotics and Prebiotics in Human Nutrition and Health 

Rao, Venketeshwer; Rao, Leticia G. (2016). Probiotic microorganisms are recognised as being beneficial for human health. Prebiotics are substrates that are used preferentially by the probiotic bacteria for their growth.

Medical and molecular virology

Textbook of Bacteriology

Cooperative Evolution 

Cooperative Evolution offers a fresh account of evolution consistent with Charles Darwin's own account of a cooperative, inter-connected, buzzing and ever-changing world.

Evolutionary Developmental Biology (CC BY-NC-SA)

The fields of Development and Evolution cannot be truly separated. When we study Developmental Biology we are mostly looking at a fine-tuned mechanical and genetic process that has been selected on for eons. Not only can evolution select on the final product – a working, fertile adult – but also can act at each developmental stage.

Evolution and the Origin of Species 

Evolution information

BioTechnology Foundations 2nd Edition

By Jack O'Grady, ACC Biology Faculty. Given the broad definition of biotechnology applications and products, it is easy to see how there is enormous overlap within the fields of cellular biology, microbiology, chemistry, and biomedical engineering. It is the goal of this textbook to provide foundational knowledge to begin building your biotechnology toolkit and enter an exciting career of making a difference through biotechnology. 

Innovations in Biotechnology 

Agbo, Eddy C. (2012) Innovations in Biotechnology provides an authoritative crystallization of some of the evolving leading-edge biomedical research topics and developments in the field of biotechnology

Insect Life-Cycles 

Annotated drawings, drawings, and notes. Click the images and links for full-size documents and drawings

Entomology 311 Lab Manual

Labs in this book supplement the information gained in lecture, as well as providing some perspective and experience with hands-on applications of ideas in pest management. 

Biodiversity

From OpenStax CNX

Understanding Biodiversity 

Are you interested in the biodiversity of bacteria, fungi and animals? This Flexbook goes into detail on each as well as the biodiversity of many others. 

Biofundamentals

Evolutionary, molecular, and systems biology with genomes and genetics. 

Working with Molecular Genetics (Hardison) 

Libretexts

Human Biology – Genetics 

Dig deeper into genetics with an entire digital textbook on the subject. This Flexbook includes chapters covering DNA, chromosomes, cell division and gene disorder. 

Essentials of Genetics

Book: Online Open Genetics

Introduction to Oceanography

Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.

Introduction to Environmental Science - 2nd Edition

This course uses the basic principles of biology and earth science as a context for understanding environmental policies and resource management practices. Our planet is facing unprecedented environmental challenges, from oil spills to global climate change. In ENSC 1000, you will learn about the science behind these problems; preparing you to make an informed, invaluable contribution to Earth's future.

Environmental Biology Textbook (OpenOregon)
Open textbook “designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand.