Program Requirements
Cosmetic Esthetics at Wiregrass
Location: Valdosta Campus
Type of Program: Certification
Start Terms: Spring Semester
This program, once completed, allows students to sit for the Esthetics licensure Examination given by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. With this certification, students can get work in several different areas that employ estheticians such as
For more information, visit the Wiregrass Student Handbook and Catalog 2020-2021
Courses
ESTH 1000: Introduction to Esthetics (3 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: Program Admission Co-requisite: none
Introduces the fundamental theory and practices of the Professional Esthetician. Emphasis will be placed on professional practices and safety. Topics include: state and local laws, rules and regulations, professional image, history of the skin, care and use of cosmetics, bacteriology, sterilization and sanitation, chemistry for estheticians, ingredients and product analysis, and hazardous duty standards act.
ESTH 1010: Anatomy and Physiology of the Skin (3 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisite: ESTH 1000
Introduction to anatomy and physiology; disorders of the skin and nutrition and health of the skin. Topics include: cells/tissues/organs, skeletal system, muscular system, nervous system, circulatory system, endocrine system, excretory system, respiration system, digestive system, structure of the skin, disorders of the skin, and nutrition and health of the skin.
ESTH 1020: Skin Care Procedures (4 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisite: ESTH 1000
Introduces the theory, procedures, and products used in the care and treatment of the skin. Topics include: client consultation and preparation, cleansing the skin, techniques for professional massage, facial treatments and body treatments, aromatherapy, body wraps, reflexology, and air borne and blood borne pathogens and OSHA updates.
ESTH 1030: Electricity and Facial Treatments with Machines (5 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisite: ESTH 1000
Provides instruction on and application of techniques and theory in the treatment of the skin. Topics include: skin analysis equipment, basic skin care products, basic electricity, men's skin care products, post consultation and home care, mechanical versus chemical exfoliations, microdermabrasion, and advanced product types and features.
ESTH 1040: Advanced Skin Care (3 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisite: ESTH 1000
Provides instruction on and application of techniques and theory in the treatment of the skin. Topics include: intrinsic aging, analysis of sensitive skin, treatment for hyperpigmentation, causes of acne, methods of holistic therapy, joining a medical team, and preoperative and postoperative care.
ESTH 1050: Color Theory and Makeup (4 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisite: ESTH 1000
Provides instruction on and application of techniques and theory in the treatment of the skin. Topics include: morphology of hair, hair removal, sanitation, eyebrow shaping, waxing, ingrown hair service, color theory, face proportions and shape, choosing and using makeup products, makeup tools, basic makeup application, camouflage therapy, and medical application
ESTH 1060: Esthetics Practicum I (4 credit hours)
Pre-requisites: ESTH 1000, ESTH 1010, ESTH 1020, ESTH 1030 Co-requisites: ESTH 1040, ESTH 1050
Provides laboratory experience necessary for the development of skill levels to be a competent esthetician. The allocation of time to the various phases of esthetics is prescribed by the state board of cosmetology. This course includes a portion of the hours for licensure. Topics include: body treatments, aromatherapy, reflexology, facials, and hair removal.
ESTH 1070: Esthetics Practicum II (4 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisites: ESTH 1060
Provides experience for professional development and completion of requirements for state licensure. Emphasis will be placed on the display of conduct and positive attitudes. The requirements for this course will be met in a laboratory setting. Topics include: body treatments, aromatherapy, reflexology, facials, and hair removal.
COSM 1120: Salon Management (3 credit hours)
Pre-requisite: None Co-requisites: COSM 1000
Emphasizes the steps involved in opening and operating a privately owned salon. Topics include: law requirements regarding employment, tax payer education / federal and state responsibilities, law requirements for owning and operating a salon business, business management practices, and public relations and career development.
For more information, visit the online Wiregrass Student Handbook and Catalog 2020-2021
