Criminal Sentencing and Appeals
This course focuses on the post-verdict phase in criminal cases from sentencing through appeals. This is an introductory level course in criminal procedure, and no prior knowledge or experience is required.
These are the Federal Rules of Evidence (FRE) as effective December 01, 2016. The FRE govern the introduction of evidence in civil and criminal trials in United States federal courts. These Rules are often the foundation for the standard upper level law school course in Evidence.
Overview: Students will learn the process a case goes through to get to the Supreme Court and why some cases are determined to be landmark cases.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
find articles, tools, and resources in criminal justice
This course focuses on the rights of all Americans under the federal and state Constitutions and laws.
Counterterrorism Law and Policy
In this course, we’ll introduce you to the strategies the United States, its allies and international organizations such as the United Nations, use when combatting global terrorism.
This course provides an analysis of the historical development of the relationship of the states to the Bill of Rights.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Search over 73,000 resources in the HSDL’s public collection. Recommended by faculty as *the* place to start.
the official Stanford Prison Experiment website, which features extensive information about a classic psychology experiment that inspired an award-winning movie, New York Times bestseller, and documentary DVD.
Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
an exhibit all about the history of forensic medicine
MERLOT: Criminal Justice Community Portal
An educational resource for teaching and learning. Use this portal to discover online learning materials, MERLOT members, journals, professional organizations, and news in your discipline.
Choose "Case Law" under the search box to search Federal and State court cases.
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
covers law enforcement, criminal courts, sentencing, penal institutions, and community-based sanctions. It also includes historical and contemporary perspectives on components of the criminal justice system, as well as the legal and constitutional frameworks in which they operate
law-enforcement-and-criminal-justice-manual
Manual created by Career and Technical Education Utah State Board of Education
Criminal Justice: An Overview of the System
Open textbook
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
open textbook
creative commons open textbook
information on the history of policing by communitypolicing.com
scenarios for traffic stops
Professional Report Writing for Law Enforcement Officers
Training
C-SPAN Video Library: Criminal Justice
One of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content.
An Introduction to Criminological Theory, Penology and Crime Prevention by 
The Assessment Center Handbook for Police and Fire Personnel by Criminal Justice
Open Educational Resources
Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice
This text provides edited and abridged cases that are intended to be easy to read and provide lower division students with a gentle introduction to key legal concepts that define the workings of our criminal justice system.
Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
Copyright Year: 2017
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
Copyright Year: 2019
textbook
Forensic Analysis From Death to Justice
textbook
John Fabian Witt & Karen M. Tani, Torts: Cases, Principles, and Institutions, Fifth Edition, Published by CALI eLangdell Press. Available under a Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 4.0 License
Project Gutenberg's Crime: Its Cause and Treatment, by Clarence Darrow
book
Project Gutenberg's Crime and Its Causes, by William Douglas Morrison
online book
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
textbook
textbook from open textbook library
Criminal Law by Corey Rayburn Yung (2019)
This book is posted to SSRN in the form of a 521 page PDF and contains the materials for a first-year course in criminal law focused on the substantive law of the United States.
Criminal Law by Jeannie Suk-Gersen (2017)
This 9 chapter casebook is completely free to use and available online. it is hosted by H2O
Criminal Procedure: A Free Law School Casebook, by Ben Trachtenberg & Anne Gardner Alexander (2021)
100% Free. Creative Commons licensed. Peer-reviewed.
Steve McCartney Rick Parent, Simon Fraser University
In this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics.
Community-Oriented Policing and Technological Innovations | SpringerLink
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license.
White-Collar Crime In The Shadow Economy
textbook
Community and the Justice System.
textbook
Homeland Security-Safeguarding the U.S. Against Domestic Catastrophic Destruction
textbook
Principles and Procedures of the Justice System
textbook
This OER Textbook was developed for use in conjunction with introductory level correctional case management courses. It provides an overview into the major aspects of correctional case management, in both institutional and community settings.
Textbook
Introduction to Criminal Justice
Open course with Syllabus from ALG Textbook Transformation Grant.
Criminal Justice Research Methods
Affordable Learning Georgia Grants Collections are intended to provide faculty with the frameworks to quickly implement or revise the same materials as a Textbook Transformation Grants team, along with the aims and lessons learned from project teams during the implementation process.
course
CRJU 2700: American Criminal Courts
course
Proactive Policing: Effects on Crime and Communities (2018)
Welcome to the First Edition of an OER textbook for Penn State's CRIMJ 100 Course. This text was developed with the assistance of an Affordable Course Transformation grant from The Pennsylvania State University.
Communications in Law Enforcement and the Criminal Justice System: Key principles
Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
In this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics.
Constitutional Law A casebook, or a companion reader for Fidelity & Constraint (2019)
This open casebook is a companion to Lessig's book, Fidelity & Constraint (Oxford 2019). It covers the course material of federalism, separation of powers, and the Civil War Amendments, organized into a framework for understanding how the Supreme Court has developed these doctrines. The casebook can obviously be used independently of the book.
The Best Evidence Rule, contained in Article X of the Federal Rules of Evidence (Rules 1001-1008) and state counterparts, is a Rule that requires a party seeking to prove the contents of a writing, recording, or photograph to produce the original (or a duplicate) or account for its nonproduction. Through a series of cases and hypotheticals drawn from actual cases, this chapter gives readers a roadmap for how to address any Best Evidence Rule issue in practice.
Criminal Justice: An Overview of the System
This text is designed as a first course in criminal justice. It covers police, courts, and corrections, integrating the juvenile justice system.
Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice
Legal Research In Criminal Justice
Criminology – Simple Book Publishing
Global Corruption: Law, Theory & Practice by Gerry Ferguson 2019
“Deviance, Crime, and Social Control”
Race, Crime, and Citizenship in American Law (MIT OpenCourseware)
SOU-CCJ230 Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
Research Methods for Criminal Justice Students
Liberty, Equality and Due Process: Cases, Controversies, and Contexts in Constitutional Law
Forensic Analysis - From Death to Justice
textbook from lumen learning
