The Cybersecurity Diploma program and the Cybersecurity Technical Certificate of Credit qualify for the HOPE Career Grant!
This is available to students who are HOPE Grant eligible and are enrolled in any of the programs that are HOPE Career Grant eligible. The award for the grant is based on credit hours with the maximum award per term being $500. Learn more here.
Meet the Faculty
Sean Strickland
Computer Information Sciences Instructor
Valdosta Campus | Sharron and Sydney Morris Hall | Room 7239
229-333-2100 ext. 3082
sean.strickland@wiregrass.edu
Cybersecurity Diploma, Degree, and Certificate Requirements
Wiregrass offers three options in the Cybersecurity Program: A degree path (71 Hours), a diploma path (57 Hours), and a Technical Certificate of Credit path (26 Hours)
All are offered on the Valdosta campus.
Requirements:
Course Descriptions
CIST 1001: Computer Concepts (4 hours)
Provides an overview of information systems, computers and technology. Topics include: Information Systems and Technology Terminology, Computer History, Data Representation, Data Storage Concepts, Fundamentals of Information Processing, Fundamentals of Information Security, Information Technology Ethics, Fundamentals of Hardware Operation, Fundamentals of Networking, Fundamentals of the Internet, Fundamentals of Software Design Concepts, Fundamentals of Software, (System and Application), System Development Methodology, Computer Number Systems conversion (Binary and Hexadecimal), Mobile computing.
CIST 1122: Hardware Installation and Maintenance (4 hours)
Prerequisites: Program Admission
This course serves to provide students with the knowledge of the fundamentals of computer technology, networking, and security along with the skills required to identify hardware, peripheral, networking, and security components with an introduction to the fundamentals of installing and maintaining computers. Students will develop the skills to identify the basic functionality of the operating system, perform basic troubleshooting techniques, utilize proper safety procedures, and effectively interact with customers and peers. This course is designed to help prepare students for the CompTIA A+ certification examination.
CIST 1401: Computer Networking Fundamentals (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): Program Admission
Introduces networking technologies and prepares students to take the CompTIA's broad-based, vendor independent networking certification exam, Network +. This course covers a wide range of material about networking, including local area networks, wide area networks, protocols, topologies, transmission media, and security. Focuses on operating network management systems, and implementing the installation of networks. It reviews cabling, connection schemes, the fundamentals of the LAN and WAN technologies, TCP/IP configuration and troubleshooting, remote connectivity, and network maintenance and troubleshooting. Topics include: basic knowledge of networking technology, network media and topologies, network devices, network management, network tools and network security.
CIST 1601: Information Security Fundamentals (3 hours)
This course provides a broad overview of information security. It covers terminology, history, security systems development and implementation. Student will also cover the legal, ethical, and professional issues in information security.
CIST 1602: Security Policies and Procedures (3 hours)
This course provides knowledge and experience to develop and maintain security policies and procedures. Students will explore the legal and ethical issues in information security and the various security layers: physical security, personnel security, operating systems, network, software, communication and database security. Students will develop an Information Security Policy and an Acceptable Use Policy.
CIST 2441: Network Home and Small Business (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): Program Admission
This course teaches students the skills needed to obtain entry-level home network installer jobs. It also helps students develop some of the skills needed to become network technicians, computer technicians, cable installers, and help desk technicians. It provides a hands-on introduction to networking and the Internet using tools and hardware commonly found in home and small business environments. Instructors are encouraged to facilitate field trips and outside-the-classroom learning experiences. Labs include PC installation, Internet connectivity, wireless connectivity, and file and print sharing.
CIST 2451: Cisco Network Fundamentals (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): Program Admission
This course provides students with classroom and laboratory experience in current and emerging network technology. Topics include basics of communication, converged networks, OSI and TCP/IP network models, Application layer protocols, services, and applications, Transport layer protocols and services, Network layer addressing and routing concepts, IPv4 and IPv6, calculating IPv4 subnets, Data Link layer and the encapsulation process, Physical layer components and data encoding, Ethernet and network protocol analysis, network cabling, and basic network configuration.
CIST 2601: Implementing Operation Systems Security (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): CIST 1601 and (CIST 1401 OR CIST 2451 OR CIST 2441)
This course will provide knowledge and the practical experience necessary to configure the most common server platforms. Lab exercises will provide students with experience of establishing operating systems security for the network environment.
CIST 2602: Network Security (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): CIST 1601 and (CIST 1401 OR CIST 2451 OR CIST 2441)
This course provides knowledge and the practical experience necessary to evaluate, implement and manage secure information transferred over computer networks. Topics include network security, intrusion detection, types of attacks, methods of attacks, security devices, basics of cryptography and organizational security elements.
CIST 2611: Implementing Internet/Intranet Firewalls (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): CIST 1601 and (CIST 1401 OR CIST 2451 OR CIST 2441)
Students will learn how to plan, design, install and configure firewalls that will allow key services while maintaining security. This will include protecting the Internal IP services, configuring a firewall for remote access and managing a firewall.
CIST 2612: Computer Forensics (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): CIST 1122 & CIST 1601
This course examines the use of computers in the commission of crimes, collection, analysis and production of digital evidence. Students will use computer resources to explore basic computer forensic investigation techniques.
CIST 2613: Ethical Hacking and Penetration Testing (4 hours)
Pre-requisite(s): CIST 1601
This course teaches students the skills needed to obtain entry-level security specialist jobs. It provides a hands-on introduction to ethical hacking, and penetration testing. It is for individuals who want to enhance their information security skill set and help meet the growing demand for security professionals. Topics include network and computer attacks, footprinting and social engineering, port scanning, enumeration, OS vulnerabilities, hacking web servers, hacking wireless networks, cryptography and network protection systems.
COMP 2000: Introduction to Technology and Computer Application (3 hours)
Pre-Requisite(s): Program Admission
This course provides an introduction to computer applications for the development of analytical and problem-solving workplace skills. The course introduces the fundamental concepts, terminology, and operations necessary to use computers. Topics include file management, word processing software, database software, spreadsheet software, and presentation software skill development. The course also introduces terminology related to computer hardware, computer networks, and social and ethical concepts.
