Skip to Main Content

Wiregrass Georgia Technical College Libraries: Library FAQs

This guide will consist of everything there needs to know about the libraries. The Libguide will contain resources and how to videos, policies, documents and forms, Library FAQs, and brief introduction of the library staff.

Links

           

Frequently Asked Questions    

Library FAQs

Where will I find information about the library at Wiregrass Georgia Technical College?
Branch information, hours, staff, and materials checkout procedures may be found online by going to the WGTC Library Website.

 

Can I access the library catalog from home?
Yes, you can search the library catalog from any computer that has Internet access. 

 

Where will I find a current list of periodicals to which the library subscribes?
Contact library staff at each campus for current periodical list.

 

What is GALILEO, and how do I access it?
GALILEO is a virtual library which stands for Georgia Library Learning Online. It provides access to over two hundred databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 periodicals are provided in full-text. Galileo also gives WGTC students and faculty subject access to databases for ease in searching. Go to http://www.galileo.usg.edu, click on one of the tabs to begin your research or select a specific database by searching in the Databases A-Z area.

If you are off campus, GALILEO is now through OpenAthens using your SSO credentials. Please contact the library for any questions.

 

Can students access online academic databases outside the library?
Yes. Students can access databases such as GALILEO, Ebooks, and Mometrix eLibrary from the library’s computers, and remotely with your SSO credentials through OpenAthens.

 

Does the library offer orientations to students to make them better aware of its services?
The library offers both a General Orientation and a more detailed Research Orientation designed to make students aware of how to use the library and access its services. Call or visit the library to schedule an orientation or for more information.

 

Does the library have reading software and/or equipment for visually impaired people?
Yes! The Valdosta Campus library provides a software called JAWS. JAWS is a screen reading software allowing visually impaired people to use the Internet and other computer applications. Also, the Valdosta Campus library has a Merlin video magnifier for print materials.

 

How do I suggest a book for the collection?
Go to the Suggest a Book page. Fill out the form and hit “submit.” The library will make every effort to contact you once the item has arrived and is ready for checkout.

 

Will the library staff proctor an exam for students?
Yes. Contact library staff for information.

 

Does the library carry current textbooks for checkout?
No. However, there are some current textbook titles located in the Reserve Section for in-library use only. Please consult library staff for assistance.