Business Management

Hello Business Management students and welcome to your library's guide to management resources.  

The Business Management program Degree is designed to prepare students for entry into management and supervisory occupations in a variety of businesses and industries. Learning opportunities will introduce, develop, and reinforce academic and occupational knowledge, skills, and attitudes required for job acquisition, retention, and advancement in management. Graduates of the program receive a Business Management degree with a specialization in General Management, Service Sector Management, or Human Resource Management.

For more detailed course description and information concerning credit hours, prerequisite and/or corequisite, visit the WGTC website at Course Listings - MGMT

MGMT 1100: Principles of Management

Develops skills and behaviors necessary for successful supervision of people and their job responsibilities. Emphasis will be placed on real life concepts, personal skill development, applied knowledge and managing human resources. Course content is intended to help managers and supervisors deal with a dramatically changing workplace being affected by technology changes, a more competitive and global market place, corporate restructuring and the changing nature of work and the workforce. 

MGMT 1105: Organizational Behavior

Provides a general knowledge of the human relations aspects of the senior-subordinate workplace environment. 

MGMT 1110: Employment Rules & Regulations

Develops a working knowledge of the laws of employment necessary for managers.

MGMT 1115: Leadership

This course familiarizes the student with the principles and techniques of sound leadership practices. 

MGMT 1120: Introduction to Business

This course is designed to provide the student with an overview of the functions of business in the market system. The student will gain an understanding of the numerous decisions that must be made by managers and owners of businesses. 

MGMT 1125: Business Ethics

Provides students with an overview of business ethics and ethical management practices with emphasis on the process of ethical decision-making and working through contemporary ethical dilemmas faced by business organizations, managers and employees. The course is intended to demonstrate to the students how ethics can be integrated into strategic business decisions and can be applied to their own careers. The course uses a case study approach to encourage the student in developing analytical, problem-solving, critical thinking and decision-making skills. 

MGMT 1135: Managerial Account & Finance

The focus of this course is to acquire the skills and concepts necessary to use accounting information in managerial decision making. Course is designed for those who will use, not necessarily prepare, accounting information. Those applications include the use of information for short and long term planning, operational control, investment decisions, cost and pricing products and services. An overview of financial accounting and basic concepts of finance provides an overview of financial statement analysis.

MGMT 1310: Introduction to Quality Assurance

This course will provide an introduction to Six Sigma quality improvement methodology and philosophy designed to reduce product and or service failure rates to near perfection. An emphasis will be made on a disciplined, data driven approach to work toward the elimination of defects across every business area. Course blends theoretical concepts and practical ideas from proven applications of the Six Sigma methodology and will help you understand a methodical approach to problem resolution and problem prevention.

MGMT 1315: Define and Measure

This course will introduce the student to the first two phases of the Six Sigma process which are define and measure. The material will emphasize the importance of developing a clear definition of the scope of any Six Sigma process and use the SIPOC in determining that scope, as well as the use of certain tools in that process. The course will also illustrate the use of selected tools in the measure phase of the Six Sigma process and the statistical models used in these tools.

MGMT 1320: Analyze, Improve, Control

This course will provide the necessary tools to develop data analysis techniques for a particular process. It will suggest specific methodologies for improvement utilizing the information derived from determining process capability and will offer specific techniques designed to enable the student to sustain and maintain process improvement solutions.

MGMT 1340: Quality Assurance Philosophy

This course will present the historical basis for Six Sigma in America business and industry. The course will blend theoretical and practical ideas from proven applications of the Six Sigma methodology, enabling the student to demonstrate the use of the basic tools and techniques of Six Sigma improvement. The relationship between Lean and Six Sigma will be evaluated as a means for the overall reduction of waste and the improvement of quality through elimination of defects in products and services.

MGMT 1350: Quality Assurance Tools

This course will introduce the data collection, analysis and statistical tools that are necessary for use in Six Sigma projects. The student will be provided with opportunities to apply these tools as well as interpreting the results. Hypothesis testing will be emphasized in its relation to overall improvement of processes. A methodical approach to problem resolution and prevention will be provided.

MGMT 1360: Advanced Quality Assurance Process

This course will emphasize the tools and techniques necessary to implement change in processes to maximize ROI and to improve overall effectiveness and efficiency. Emphasis will be made on the role of control charting in maintaining changes in processes. The role of communicating the rationale and methodology of changes will be included.

MGMT 2115: Human Resource Management

This course is designed as an overview of the Human Resource Management (HRM) function and of the manager and supervisors role in managing the career cycle from organizational entry to exit. It acquaints the student with the authority, responsibility, functions, and problems of the human resource manager, with an emphasis on developing familiarity with the real world applications required of employers and managers who increasingly are in partnership with HRM generalists and specialists in their organizations. 

MGMT 2120: Labor Management Relations

Provides a student with an overview of the relationship of rank and file employees to management in business organizations. The nature of the workplace, the economic foundations of work organizations, and the history of the relationship between management and labor is examined. The course acquaints the student with the principles of developing positive relationships between management and labor within the context of the legal environment governing labor relations. 

MGMT 2125: Performance Management

Develops an understanding of how fostering employer/employee relationships in the work setting improves work performance. Develops legal counseling and disciplinary techniques to use in various workplace situations.

MGMT 2130: Employee Training & Development

Addresses the challenges of improving the performance and career potential of employees, while benefiting the student in their own preparation for success in the workplace. The focus is on both training and career and personal development. Shows the student how to recognize when training and development is needed and how to plan, design, and deliver an effective program of training for employees. Opportunities are provided for the student to develop their own career plans, assess their work-related skills, and practice a variety of skills desired by employers. 

MGMT 2135: Management Communication Techniques

Emphasizes developing the full range of communication strategies required to become a successful manager and prepares managers for the skills required to communicate effectively in business today. 

MGMT 2140: Retail Management

Develops a working knowledge of managing a retail business from a variety of perspectives with an emphasis on store management. The emphasis is on contemporary issues in retailing, particularly the process of supervising customer service and dealing with the changing demographics of retailing. An application focus on the use of information technologies, the internet, and electronic retailing is intended to give the student hands-on experience in retail management. 

MGMT 2145: Business Plan Development

Provides students with knowledge and skills necessary for a manager or entrepreneur to develop and implement a business plan. 

MGMT 2150: Small Business Management

This course introduces the essentials of starting, managing, and growing a small business. Topics include: the role of the entrepreneur, pricing, advertising, financing, and layout of facilities, inventory control, staffing, purchasing, vendor selection, and relevant laws affecting small business.

MGMT 2200: Production/Operations Management

This course provides the student with an intensive study of the overall field of production/operations management. 

MGMT 2205: Service Sector Management

This course focuses on supervision in the service sector with special emphasis on team building, quality management, and developing a customer focus. The challenge of providing world-class customer service is addressed through sections on principles of service industry supervision, career development, problem solving, stress management, and conflict resolution. 

MGMT 2210: Project Management

Provides a basic understanding of project management functions and processes. 

MGMT 2215: Team Project

This course utilizes team methodologies to study the field of management. It encourages students to discuss their perception of management practices which have been studied during the management program. 

MGMT 2220: Management Occupation-Based Instructions

Reinforcement of management, supervision, and employability principles in an actual job placement or through a practicum experience.  Students are acquainted with occupational responsibilities through realistic work situations and are provided with insights into management and supervisory applications on the job.