GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online. Georgia's virtual library, is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories.
Participating institutions will have access to more than 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.
When using Galileo on campus using any of our computer labs or network you will be automatically directed to the Galileo homepage and can begin your search.
When off campus users will begin at the GALILEO login page located at: https://galileo.usg.edu.
From there students should enter Wiregrass Georgia Technical College in the GALILEO wayfinder then click go.
You will be redirected to the Open Athens page where you will select students.
You will then be redirected to the OKTA login page.
Log in using your full student email as the username and eight digit birthday (Ex: 09242004) as your password unless you changed you login password. This will redirect you to the GALILEO homepage where you can begin your search.
When conducting research in Galileo you can use the advanced search capability to reduce or filter your search results. You can use Boolean operators to limit the amount of sources that pop up in the search results. Boolean Operators are simple words , such as AND, OR, and NOT, that are used to connect, combine, or exclude key terms within a search, resulting in a more focused and helpful search result. Using AND will limit your search results by combining two or more key terms or phrases together. Using OR is used to expand your search results by including terms that are used interchangeably. The word NOT will exclude certain terms from your search.
Use the search boxes to add your search terms. When using Multiple search terms put one term per search box and change the Boolean operators on the right to best match what you are searching for then click the search button on the bottom right under the search boxes.
When looking for Databases click on the button labeled All Databases on the right side of the GALILEO homepage.
The Databases are organized alphabetically based on what is available for Wiregrass Georgia Technical College.
ProQuest Research Library - Reference Database that provides a one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals. Search for scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
PrepStep for Community Colleges - an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.
Auto Repair Source - offers a user-friendly search experience and access to a wealth of information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain today's complex vehicles. Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.
Biology: The eSkeletons Project - a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information.
Business Source Complete - a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Consumer Health Complete - a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) - a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Georgia Code - hosted by LexisNexis, is the compilation of the currently enforcable laws of the state of Georgia. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number. The code can also be browsed by title, chapter, and section.
C-SPAN Video Library - includes over 160,000 hours of coverage of C-SPAN programs since 1987.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition - provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
Library of Congress Teacher Resources - The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. There are also useful resources for students on how to use, cite, and find primary documents.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) - Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) - offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) - provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) - an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.
Virtual Chemistry Lab - the Chemistry Collective, provides scenario-based learning activities for in-class or homework assignments for students. Educators can find activities for their courses, provide feedback on them, create and share activities with others, and discuss issues related to chemistry education.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies - provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
More Databases are available
When a user first logs into GALILEO, the bento search is the default but you can switch between Bento and Classic search at anytime. Your web browser will remember the last search mode you used (bento, classic) and that will be the default search mode in your next GALILEO session.
GALILEO Bento search
The GALILEO Bento search allows users to sort their search results by type of resource. When the Bento search is engaged, it sorts search results according to material type which makes it easier to find the type of content you are looking for. For instance if you just need an scholarly article for your research paper it will put all articles together that goes with your search terms.
Navigating GALILEO Bento Search Results
When to Use the Bento Search
GALILEO Classic search
Classic search in GALILEO allows users to view all resources found for the search term that is used. In order to narrow your results to specific resources such as an article you must use filters. 
To add filters to your search click on "All filters" button at top of page under the search box. A drop down menu will appear on the left side of the page. click on the filters you would like to use based on what you are needing for your research. You can limit it to articles, magazines, newspaper, books, eBooks etc. Make sure you click on full text, and peer reviewed when searching for articles or academic journals.
For quick filters you can also click on each tab under the search box to limit your search results as well. Click on apply once you pick the type of resource you need.
You can click on the "all time" button to limit your search results by publication dates. You can limit it to past ten years, past five years, or past 12 months or click all time for any date published.
PowerNotes is a very powerful tool that can assist with the research process. PowerNotes may be used to:
Login using Open Athens tab at the top of the page for free access this will direct you to the okta login. Once logged in complete your profile information and create account.
To search for Journals, click on the button at the top right corner of the GALILEO Homepage labeled All Journals.
The following page will appear in which you can conduct a search based on title or ISSN. You can also use the Journals by Category section to select a journal based on a category.
Once you begin your search you can use the filters to the right to refine your search by relevance, title, full text, peer reviewed, open access, or available in library.
Thousand More journal titles are available
When you click on an article in GALILEO, There are several useful buttons at the top right corner of the article title that can help you along the way.
The 
Button allows you to save the article to view later.
The 
Button allows you to use the built in citation generator to create an citation to add to your paper. Make sure you change the select style's drop down menu to the appropriate format you need for your paper based on the directions of the assignment. Click on copy to clipboard when you are ready to copy citation. You can paste the copied citation directly into your papers works cited / Reference page. Make sure you fix the format of the citation to double spaced, the correct font size, alphabetical order based on your other citations, and hanging indention after pasting into paper if it needs correcting.
The 
Button allows you to save your article to a specific project folder. You can create new project or add to an existing project for safe keeping.
The 
Button allows you to share the article either through email, one drive, google drive, or create a direct link that you can copy to your clipboard for later usage.
The 
Button allows you to download a copy of the article in PDF format for printing or saving to your computer.
When you open up the article in full view The 
Button will also be available and this button will allow you to print a copy of the article.
ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary resource that features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers across a variety of subjects with access to thousands of titles, including many full-text articles. Click the search tips button to learn more about using specific terms, characters, and more to get better search results.
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks from scholarly sources, including university presses and other top publishers.
