English Literature from the Old English Period Through the Renaissance by 
English Literature from the Restoration Through the Romantic Period by 
The Bloomsbury Introduction to Postcolonial Writing : New Contexts, New Narratives, New Debates by 
Iraq's Modern Arabic Literature : A Guide to English Translations Since 1950 by 
Beyond the Second Sophistic : Adventures in Greek Postclassicism by CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
"CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts, is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of over 15.6 million words, in 1321 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts."
The Emergence of Irish Gothic Fiction - Histories, Origins, Theories?
Contributor: Killeen Publisher: Edinburgh University Press. Provides a new account of the emergence of Irish gothic fiction in mid-eighteenth century. This book provides a robustly theorised and thoroughly historicised account of the ‘beginnings' of Irish gothic fiction, maps the theoretical terrain covered by other critics, and puts forward a new history of the emergence of the genre in Ireland.
Irish Literature and the First World War : Culture, Identity and Memory
The Jlit website is a (largely) academic site devoted to various aspects of one of the world's great literatures. As a single-webmaster operation, the site has tended to expand in a leisurely and somewhat haphazard fashion. Nevertheless, there is material here that will not readily be found elsewhere, so feel free to browse.
An Introduction to British Literature
The world about which Chaucer wrote was a very different world from that which produced Beowulf. Developments in language, new structures in society, and changes in how people viewed the world and their place in it produced literature unlike the heroic literature of the Old English period.
The British Council contemporary literature archive.
Welcome to British Council Literature. We work with hundreds of writers and literature partners to develop innovative projects and collaborations
British Literature I: Middle Ages to the Eighteenth Century and Neoclassicism
British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond
An Islamic and Middle East Studies collection of Cornell University. Access general and Classical literature and commentary.
Writing the Nation: A Concise Introduction to American Literature 1865 to Present
Writing the Nation: A Concise Guide to American Literature 1865 to Present is a text that surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature.
Korean Through Folktales consists of four chapters and each centers on a famous Korean folktale. The lessons and values that famous folktales teach are embedded and permeated in various aspects of the Koran culture. Using folktales in the curriculum will provide an engaging way to expose students to a slice of the target culture that native Koreans are naturally exposed to at an early age.
Chinese Poems, a dedicated website.
This site presents Chinese, pinyin and English texts of poems by some of the greatest Chinese poets. Most of the featured authors are from the Tang dynasty, when culture in China was at its peak, but writers from other periods are also included.
Classics of Chinese Literature
This course is an introduction to some of the major genres of traditional Chinese poetry, fiction, and drama.
AustLit
AustLit is a non-profit collaboration between twelve Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 100,000 Australian authors and literary organizations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day.
AUSTRALIAN LITERARY AND HISTORICAL TEXTS
Welcome to the SETIS collection of more than 300 Australian literary and historical texts.This page includes a listing in alphabetical order by author's name, as well as keyword search and browse by category pages.
Australian Academy of the Humanities
The Academy is the national body for the humanities in Australia, championing the contribution that humanities make to national life. Our purpose is to ensure the humanities in Australia thrive and excel, because we believe a better future for all humanity depends on ethical, historical, creative and cultural knowledge and expertise.
The Project Gutenberg Library of Australiana
The Project Gutenberg Library of Australiana. Australian writers, works about Australia and works which may be of interest to Australians.
Australian Poetry Centre
The Australian Poetry Centre is a not-for-profit, incorporated association established to promote reading, writing and publishing activities associated with Australian poetry in all of its forms. The APC is supported by the State Government of Victoria.
Australian Literature Database
Australian literature e-texts (from Sydney University).
Voiceworks is a national literary journal that features exciting new writing and art by young Australians. Our purpose is to create a space for people under twenty-five to develop their creative and editorial skills and to publish, and be paid for, their fiction, nonfiction, poetry, art and comics.
Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (Italy)
Web portal for searching the digital collections of the Italian National Library
Biblioteca Digital Hispanica (Spain)
The web portal for searching the digitized collections of the Spanish National Library.
History of Spanish Literature
www.donquijote.org
La biblioteca virtual Miguel de Cervantes
A library of online Spanish literature texts.
Project Gutenberg Support Spanish Literature
Project Gutenberg supports Spanish literature by offering online Spanish books for anyone at no cost. Readers can access and download a wide range of literature such as: Don Quijote, La Vida del Lazarillo de Tormes, Retrato de la Lozana Andaluza, Pablo de Segovia, Historia de la vida del Buscón, Platero y yo, Obras Escogidas, Amadis de Gaula, Azul.
Includes biographies, images, and text fragments for authors from Spain and Latin America (as well as other countries); the site also incorporates art, architecture, music and cinematography. Site is entirely in Spanish.
The largest searchable repository of digitized primary sources related to the history, art, and culture of Europe.
Web portal for searching the digitized collections of the French National Library.
A reference site on Moliere's work created by the city of Pezenas. Site is entirely in French.
Canadian Literature and Culture Site
An overview from Brown University.
A collection of poets with biographies, list of published works, and sample poems. Toronto University
Canadian Literature Research Service (National Library of Canada)
Authors included: Earle Birney, Emily Carr, Stephen Leacock (includes Audio), Gabrielle Roy, Yves Thériault.
Twentieth-Century Russian Poetry: Reinventing the Canon
The canon of Russian poetry has been reshaped since the fall of the Soviet Union. A multi-authored study of changing cultural memory and identity, this revisionary work charts Russia’s shifting relationship to its own literature in the face of social upheaval.
Oral Literature in Africa
This text by Ruth Finnegan focuses on the study and appreciation of oral literature and is accompanied by recordings of stories and songs that are available for free.
African American Literature (Lehman College)
“African American Literature is a survey course that will take us from the early days of enslavement to the present. We will read, analyze, and discuss literary texts written by African Americans, paying particular attention to the political, historical and social context that informs these texts.”
African Studies: African Literature
African Literature and Cinema. Columbia University
Africa Access, a 501 c (3) organization was founded in 1989 to help schools, public libraries, and parents improve the quality of their K-12 collections on Africa.
Poetry International
South African poets.
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie webpage
Adichie is a winner of a 2008 MacArthur [Genius] Fellowship. Adichie also won the 2007 Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction. Her 2009 TED talk - "The danger of a single story".
Reading African American Literature
Reading African American Literature is a multi-genre introduction to African American Literature and basic literary critical theory. It includes drama, nonfiction, slave narratives, poetry, and various readings organized by genre, including Jean Toomer's Cane.
Latin American and Spanish Literary Guide
Trusted internet portal for latin Amercican studies from 1992 to 2015.
Contexto Teatral
Contexto Teatral is a live archive of new plays by contemporary Spanish playwrights. The online platform is especially useful as a theatre search engine, as it has clear and practical information about the authors and their available plays, including casting details and sample excerpts of the texts.
The Poetry Archive
A premier online collection of recordings of poets reading their work. Listen here, free of charge, to the voices of contemporary English-language poets and of poets from the past.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes.
Poetry London
Poetry London is a leading international poetry magazine where acclaimed contemporary poets share pages with exciting new names. Published three times a year in March, June and October, each issue contains new poetry, incisive reviews and features.
On this site you will find classic works of English literature. Fiction from writers like Lewis Carroll, the Bronte sisters (Anne, Charlotte and Emily), Jack London, Mark Twain, Charles Dickens, non-fiction from Charles Darwin and Rene Descartes and more.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Collection of English literary works from the Medieval period to the 19th Century
English Literature Links
A very comprehensive site with links to English literature glossary, essays, reference sites, historical time periods and genres, authors,books on film, short story writing, literary theory, literature web directories, ebooks, and more.
There are several major literary periods or Genres in World literature:
Classical Period, Medieval, Renaissance, Neoclassical or enlightment period, Romantic Period, Victorian Period or Realism, Modern, & Post Modern.
A number of literature experts group the world's literature into three broad categories: Pre-colonial, colonial, and postcolonial.
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
Dino Franco Felluga's (Associate Professor in the English Department at Purdue University, West Lafayette) "Introductory Guide to Critical Theory" is an excellent resource applicable to a variety of disciplines, including literature, "for both undergraduate and graduate students who are beginning to learn critical theory, including guides to terms.... The site includes sample applications, annotated links to existing web sites, and also more-in-depth modules on specific authors." Click on the "Intro" link to the top left of the page for a quick introduction to how best to use the site's features.
Reading African American Literature 
