List of speeches by the Presidents of the United States
List of speeches on Social Justice
American Rhetoric: Movie speeches
Speeches from Movies
Videos
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world. It only includes transcripts for included speeches.
History Channel: Famous Speeches & Audio
Includes video and audio for famous speeches on a variety of topics.
Vital Speeches of the Day is a monthly magazine that presents speeches and other public addresses in full.
Great Speeches Collection
Dedicated to "the study of great speeches and public debates." Speeches are organized into topics that include Citizenship & Civic Identity, Civil Rights, Freedom of Speech, and Social & Economic Justice. Each speech transcript is accompanied by an interpretive essay, a list of suggested resources, and teaching-learning materials
Humanity.org.
Over 35 speeches from 1936-
History Place: Great Speeches
List of speeches with links to text
Miller Center of Public Affairs. University of Virginia.
Full text of selected U.S. presidential speeches from George Washington to the present. Audio available for some of the more recent ones.
Add visual aids and props to enhance your message, clarify the meaning of your words, target the emotions of your audience, and/or show what words fail to clearly describe. Use props to give audience a visual of what you are describing
From Purdue University, this is a quick list of tips for students.
How To Speak by Patrick Winston (video) - MIT OpenCourseWare
Public speaking tips from Toastmasters
Better Public Speaking: Becoming a Confident, Compelling Speaker
Public Speaking tips
This website offers an assortment of virtual tools to help users improve their public speaking skills.
Improve your writing today. Get everything you to need to know about writing in one place.
Free ebooks online. Need to create an free account.
The National Speakers Association is one of the foremost sources on speaking efficiently and find ways to further harness your skill set.
Public Speaking and Presentations: Tips for Success
This resource includes tips and suggestions for improving your public speaking skills.
If you’re looking for some inspiration to take your presentations to the next level, Presentation Zen is a great resource. You can read articles and watch videos that cover everything from how to be a better storyteller to improving your visual aids.
Six Minutes Speaking and Presentation Skills: Your guide to be a confident and effective speaker
information on public speaking
Speech Communication Resource Center
links on communication from cengage learning
Site provides one-stop access to relevant communication, journalism, speech, rhetoric-related websites.
University of Iowa Communication Studies. Index of Online Resources
Link to categories such as journalism and mass communication, cultural studies, rhetorical studies, TV, and radio.
Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies Page, University of California, Santa Barbara
Link to sites relating to internet broadcast media, media theory & history, television and journalism.
National Association of Broadcasters
Debatepedia is the Wikipedia of debates - an encyclopedia of pro and con arguments and quotes on critical issues. A project of the 501c3 non-profit International Debate Education Association (IDEA), Debatepedia utilizes the same wiki technology powering Wikipedia to centralize arguments and quotes found in editorials, op-eds, political statements, and books into comprehensive pro/con articles.
Online Resources on Public Speaking
Exploring Public Speaking: 4th Edition this book is useful in presenting the topics of PowerPoint, audience responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches.
Introduction to Public Speaking Virtual textbook on Public Speaking
Communication Credentials 7 C’s of Communication
Conveying important information concisely in public speaking and interviews This public speaking lesson focuses on presenting and conveying important information, details, facts, and opinions in a concise manner.
Fundamentals of Public Speaking online textbook
Introduction to Public Communication Introduction to Public Communication is an open textbook created specifically for ISU's COMM 101 course. A guiding team of Communication instructors compiled content from other open sources, and wrote original content to complete this text.
Planning & Presenting Effectively This seminar will focus on presenting clear and concise information to an intended audience.
Principles of Public Speaking The course is an introduction to the preparation and delivery of oral presentations in an extemporaneous style. Emphasis is on ethical research, critical and logical analysis, and organization of informative and persuasive presentations.
COMM101: Public Speaking This course systematically examines the elements of an effective speech and goes through an element-by-element examination of the essentials of public speaking, while also identifying traits of the individual speaker and how they affect preparation and presentation.
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speakingfeatures two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication.
Introduction to Communication course from lumenlearning
Speeches and speech-making Course on speeches
Communication in the Real World Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
Business Communication for Success Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy is a contemporary, interdisciplinary public speaking textbook that fuses rhetoric, critical/cultural studies, and performance to offer an up-to-date resource for students.
Informed Arguments: A Guide to Writing and Research The textbook offers a thorough discussion of the writing process and the research process.
Arguing Using Critical Thinking by Jim Marteney (2020): LA Valley College/ASCC OERI. Critical thinking is a series learned skills. In each chapter of this book you will find a variety of skills that will help you improve your thinking and argumentative ability. As you improve, you will grow into a more confident person being more in charge of your world and the decisions you make.
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries Good writing skills are important in today’s competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing.
Course from lumen Learning
Open course materials and book
Writing & Research in the Disciplines
open textbook
Public Speaking: Practice and Ethics
This is another option for a public speaking textbook.
Links to help with public speaking
introduction to public speaking
textbook
The Public Speaking Project
The Public Speaking Project “offers an assortment of virtual tools to help users improve their public speaking skills. A variety of speech professionals who are dedicated to providing free and low cost instructional materials contribute their original work” to the virtual textbook, classroom, and faculty lounge.
Speech Analysis Paper Assignment (La Guardia Community College)
“This assignment was used in a Public Speaking course where students learned to build a variety of public speeches. The assignment aims to enable students to make connections to experience, to reflect and self-asses their learning
The purpose of this course is to systematically examine the elements and factors which result in an effective speech
Public Speaking Openstax Open Course
Description:Assists students in developing oral communication skills. Classroom practice, the Internet, e-mail, community interactions, and other resources support learning and yield enhanced confidence and competence.
Rhetoric: The Art of Persuasive Writing and Public Speaking (Harvard/edX)
This course is an introduction to the theory and practice of rhetoric, the art of persuasive writing and speech. In it, you will learn to construct and defend compelling arguments, a crucial skill in many settings. We will be using selected speeches from prominent twentieth-century Americans -- including Martin Luther King Jr., John F. Kennedy, Margaret Chase Smith, Ronald Reagan, and more -- to explore and analyze rhetorical structure and style.
public speaking textbook
ORAT!O - Speaking with Confidence
ORAT!O is an open resources for public speaking courses. Chapters are organized by weekly along with videos covering various aspects of public speaking.