A Massively Collaborative Open U.S. History Textbook
Archive of materials and textbooks. Provides open access for two textbooks: US History and World History.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of history textbooks.
U.S. History Textbook Online
U.S. History Book online
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877
A downloadable, free-to-use textbook licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history.
Maps depicting changes in American history
Courses on History
Providing online history courses and guides for students to access and learn for their own enjoyment and educational purposes.
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877
free and open textbook by the University of North Georgia Press at Nighthawks Open Institutional Repository
History resources developed for "public use" by Blue Mountain Community College
United States History, Volume 2
Textbook from Lard Bucket
OER resources on U.S. History and more
El Paso Independent School District in El Paso Texas created this US History text
OER resources
OER Resources
OER Resources
Textbook and resources from the University System of Georgia
American History I: Colonial Period to Civil War (Gordon State College)
Textbook and resources from University System of Georgia
OER resources on US History
U.S. History I: Pre-Colonial to 1865
Textbook online
U.S. History II: 1877 to Present
Textbook online
textbook from BCCampus
African American History and Culture
course and textbook
Western Civilization: A Concise History Volumes 1-3
textbooks
A People's History Of The United States by Howard Zinn
textbook
Attenuated Democracy: A Critical Introduction to U.S. Government and Politics
open textbook
American History From Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium
U.S. History.org
U.S.History.org textbook
Textbook
WikiBook
wikibook
Bay College - HIST 211 - U.S. History to 1865
U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
American Environmental History
For too long the environment has been considered little more than a neutral background to history. This text surveys findings of the new field of Environmental History about how the environment of the Americas influenced the actions of people here and how people affected their environments, from prehistory to the present.
A Road Less Traveled, An Ancillary to Our Story: From Pre Contact to Post Factual America
This OER was written in collaboration with students to foster student-centered and student-driven conversations around United States history.
American Historical Association
A nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies.
We the People: Educational Videos
Created and produced by the National Constitution Center, our educational videos feature the museum's education staff, distinguished scholars, and even some famous faces who bring America’s democracy and the stories of “We the People” to life.
U.S. history course
U.S History course
U.S. History Course
HIST 119 - The Civil War and Reconstruction Era, 1845-1877
This course explores the causes, course, and consequences of the American Civil War, from the 1840s to 1877
The American Revolution as Civil War
lesson
HIST363: Global Perspectives on Industrialization
This course will focus on the emergence and evolution of industrial societies around the world.
American History From Revolution to Reconstruction
From the Netherlands, this website is dedicated to the pre-World War I history of the United States
These materials from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
This University of Virginia production features a museum for American studies, cultural maps, on-going hypertext projects, an electronic classroom, and special features.
Civil War Online Primary Sources
Clash of Cultures in the 1910s and 1920s
From the Department of History at the Ohio State University
Henry Hudson, English Explorer and Navigator
A collection of data about Henry Hudson, and a chronology of his life and voyages.
From the U.S. Department of State this site "presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity".
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
Provides background information on the role of religion in the European settlement of America.
Designed for high school and college teachers and students,
History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers
other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 41,844,890 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Library of Congress: American History Collections
digital collection of information on American History
Online collection of primary sources, documentary material, online books and reviews on History
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Sourcebook on History
EDTechTeacher: American History
Links on different timelines of American History
Classroom Materials: United States History
Resources on United States History
text and course
Thousands of individual pages covering all aspects of U.S. History.
Open Courses on History from the Yale University
Lessons on U.S. History
Web site includes a U.S. history textbook; over 400 annotated documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, succinct essays on the history of film, ethnicity, private life, and technology; multmedia exhibitions; and reference resources that include a database of annotated links, classroom handouts, chronologies, glossaries, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images.
Sage American History: A Survey of America's Past
Sage American History is divided into 30 chronological sections, colonial through modern times.
Advanced Placement United States History from the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education
This course presents a complete set of lessons meant to help students for the College Board's Advanced Placement United States History test. It provides a rich set of interatcive media and multimedia presentations that explore the history of North America from pre-colonial times, though the forming of the United States, and the two hundred years since.
Educational resources and information on U.S. History, world history, and more.
History Resources from The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
open educational resources on American History
Information on US history from wikibooks
The Mason OER Metafinder: U.S. History
OER resources
Settling A New World: The Lost Colony of Roanoke Island
History text
Wikibook
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
History archive
The Price of Freedom: Americans at War
This Smithsonian website skillfully integrates Flash video and text to examine armed conflicts involving the U.S. from the Revolutionary War to the war in Iraq. Each conflict contains a brief video clip, statistical information, and a set of artifacts.
Fun, interactive site with plenty of images and easy-to-read content across all eras of American history. A perfect educational site for younger students.
Learn about the text, history, and meaning of the U.S. Constitution from leading scholars of diverse legal and philosophical perspectives.
Become a geography whiz as you learn how the United States was settled. Discover how the continent was irrevocably changed by European colonization, the events that caused the wholesale displacement and decimation of the land’s original inhabitants, and how the 50 states came to be formed.
Interactives & Media from the smithsonian website
Awesome Stories: American History
Great Depression Online Module for Teachers and Students
The Great Inflation Online Module for Teachers and Students
HST 201 - U.S. History: Colonial & Revolutionary
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877
A History of the United States (1870-Present)
Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness
Our History: A History of the United States from Pre-Columbian to the Present
Community College History Book
Chapter 2 - Roots of Colonization
Chapter 4 Second Generation of British Colonies
Chapter 6 - The Road to Independence
Chapter 7 - The Formation of a National Government
Chapter 9 - Sectional Conflict
Chapter 12 - Growth and Transformation
Chapter 14- Discontent and Reform
Chapter 15 - War, Prosperity, and Collapse
