A Guide to Western Composers and their Music from the Middle Ages to the Present
Digital Resources for Musicology (DRM)
Database providing browsing and searching open-access digital projects of use to musicians and musicologist, including digitized music manuscripts, historical audio files, and early music periodicals.
The LiederNet Archive is the world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Lawrence University - Music Theory Fundamentals Worksheets
Music Unit: Masterpieces old and new
Institute for Composer Diversity
Public domain choral works available in computer-generated notation.
From the Morgan Library and Museum: Works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, Schumann, and more.
African music & drumming
This site provides biographies for musicians and groups such as bands. There are a lot of 20th and 21st Century options here if you’re studying more modern music history.
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.
The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.
Journal of New Music Research - from 1972 to present.--Publishes research on all genres of new music, from classical styles to modern popular music.
Music Theory Online -from 1993 to present --a peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines
Journal of Music History Pedagogy -The Journal of Music History Pedagogy publishes original research on any aspect of the teaching and learning of music history at both the undergraduate and graduate level, for all audiences (majors, non-majors, and the public), and all genres of music.
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
Published by the Society for 17th-Century Music
Online classical music magazine includes reviews, playlists, blogs, and more.
The Foundations of Hip-Hop Encyclopedia
A portal to digitized rare books and manuscripts at a variety of sites.
The Bavarian State Library's central portal for music and musicology, allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources.
Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa
The U.S. Marine Band offers free downloads of audio recordings, full scores, complete sets of instrumental parts, and more
Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musicians
From Iowa Public Radio
Violinist Rachel Barton Pine's extensive collection of resources to spread awareness of and access to music by Black composers
African American Composer Initiative
Presents the works of living and historical African American composers in concert, shares video of these live concerts online, and commissions new compositions.
Information about the music of our time, verified by the composers themselves
A searchable database to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on contemporary American composers.
Located at Rutgers University, this is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz materials in the world.
AMERICAN ROCK & ROLL - HOW ROCK MUSIC ROLLED THE US INTO A MUSIC REVOLUTION
Tell It Like It Is: A History of Rhythm and Blues
Hip-Hop Music Guide: History of Hip-Hop and Notable Artists
SUMMARY OF WESTERN CLASSICAL MUSIC HISTORY
by Marlon Feld
Carl Nielsen Edition - Download - The Royal Library
Country: Our National Soundtrack
Music Bookshelf (LibreTexts)
The Dictionary of Composers and their Music by Eric Gilder
Guide To Twentieth Century Composers by Mark Morris
Sound Reasoning: A New Way to Listen
Music Appreciation: History, Culture, and Context
OpenStax textbook
"The diversity of musical expressions throughout the world is vast. Music can be found in every corner of the globe in a variety of different contexts. This text provides just a small sampling of some of the various musical styles and traditions that might be found, though the skills developed in this course can be applied to any type of music.
Understanding Basic Music Theory
An expanded version of "Introduction to Music Theory", this course includes a review of common notation and an introduction to the physics behind music theory, as well as the basic concepts of music theory and a few slightly advanced but very useful topics, such as transposition.
Music Appreciation: Its Language, History and Culture
Introduction to works representative of a variety of music traditions. These include the repertoires of Western Europe from the Middle Ages through the present; of the United States, including art music, jazz, folk, rock, musical theater; and from at least two non-Western world areas.
Music Theory for the 21st-Century Classroom
Music Theory for the 21st–Century Classroom is an openly–licensed online college music theory textbook that is meant to take the student from the basics of reading and writing pitches and rhythms through twelve–tone technique and minimalism over the course of four semesters.
byTodd MuellerElizabeth OzmentIrina Escalante-ChernovaMarc GilleyCatherine Kilroe-SmithRachael Fischer
Open Music Theory is an open-source, interactive, online "text"book for college-level music theory courses. This textbook is meant to support active student engagement with music in the theory classroom.
Music AppreciationThis Music Appreciation textbook was created under an ALG Round Five Textbook Transformation Grant. The original copy was presented in five modules, which are provided as separate files.
This open e-book is the result of a project funded by a University of Edinburgh Student Experience Grant, Open e-Textbooks for access to music education.
Western Music HistoryThis is a free, online wikibook so it is continually being updated and refined. According to the authors, "Western Music History can be traced back to Medieval times, with the Introduction of Chanting (later termed Gregorian Chanting) into the Catholic church services. Western Music then started becoming more of an art form with the advances in music notation and more focus on secular themes that occurred in the Renaissance period.
Understanding Music: Past and Present
Introduction to Music AppreciationIntroduction to Music Appreciation is about listening, appreciating, understanding, and discussing music. It explores the history, aesthetics, and criticism of Western music for an enhanced understanding of the topic.
by Esther M. Morgan-Ellis
A Quick and Dirty Guide to Art, Music, and Culture
We will discuss artists and musicians in this book as they and their works are related to the social and cultural issues of their time and in our own lives.
Fundamentals, Function, and Form: Theory and Analysis of Tonal Western Art Music
Fundamentals, Function, and Form by Andre Mount—with editorial and pedagogical input from Lee Rothfarb—provides its readers with a comprehensive study of the theory and analysis of tonal Western art music.
A Popular History of the Art of Music From the Earliest Times Until the Present
Auld Lang Syne: A Song and its Culture
In Auld Lang Syne: A Song and its Culture, M. J. Grant explores the history of this iconic song, demonstrating how its association with ideas of fellowship, friendship and sociality has enabled it to become so significant for such a wide range of individuals and communities around the world.
MUS 101-Elliott Jones | Lumen Learning
Welcome to Music 101. I think you’ve made a smart choice to spend some weeks studying some of the greatest music ever written. Consider for a moment how quickly a hit pop song passes from fashionable to forgotten.
Music Fundamentals 2: Rhythm and Meter
Contributors: Ewell and Schmidt-Jones
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Music Fundamentals 1: Pitch and Major Scales and Keys
Contributors: Ewell and Schmidt-Jones
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
The main purpose of this book is to explain certain physical considerations useful not only to a beginner learning how to play a musical instrument, but also to an accomplished musician trying to gain full technical mastery of an instrument.
Dr. Neil M. Boumpani | Dr. Justin X. Carteret
This is an open textbook that is part of the Connexions collection. "CHORAL TECHNIQUES is appropriate for those who rehearse choral ensembles and present them in concert and those who want to learn about choral singing.
Classical Music: Contemporary Perspectives and Challenges
Introduction to Music Appreciation
An inquiry based approach to learning about music provides flexible lessons that deepen and broaden learners' understanding of music while engaging with their current musical interests, preferences, and goals.
Introduction to Music Appreciation
by Bethanie Hansen et al (2014): American Public University ePress.
Critical Listening: An Introduction to Classical Music
Music AppreciationAuthor:Armin Harrison
Music 101
Two Centuries In One: Musical Romanticism & the Twentieth Century - an e-book by Herbert Pauls
The Business of Music by Ernst Roth
one of the flagship journals of the Society for Music Theory. It is a peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines.
Understanding Basic Music Theory
Exploring the Arts: A Brief Introduction to Art, Theatre, Music, and Dance
