Humanities
The study of Human Society and Culture
Common covered subjects or courses in humanities: society, history, philosophy, religions, culture, visual art, performing art, sculptural art, and literature.
The Arts and Humanities Commons™
contains more than 304,000 open-access, full-text articles relating to the humanities disciplines. Here you'll find academic articles on topics ranging from music to art and design to feminist, gender, and sexuality studies.
Searchable census, land and property survey carried out in England in 1086 for William the Conqueror.
Encyclopedia of mythology and folklore containing over 4,300 entries.
This website gives you the opportunity see the world through different people all over the world on a variety of topics. Watch videos, see lesson plans about global issues and looking at it from a lense of focus on 100 people.
an interactive documentary experience that tells the story of our origins. Journey through four million years of human evolution with your guide, Donald Johanson.
No, we really really did not evolve from monkeys. John and Hank Green explain this and lots of other things related to human evolution. . Created by Big History Project.
Season 1 Crash Course Humanities
Youtube playlist of humanities videos
the network for people working in the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.
Ancient Civilizations - Independence Hall Association
Independence Hall Association provides a comprehensive textbook with sections that cover Archaeologists and Their Artifacts, Anthropologists and Their People, Prehistoric Time, and in-depth chapters regarding Ancient Civilizations. This resource is great for teachers and student to find historical documents and study people and places.
Jimena Alvarado Chavarría built this website for people who want to learn about social justice as well as for those who teach it. It includes teaching materials for her courses on social justice and WGS.
Open textbook library
The Humanities Digital Library is the open access library and catalogue for books published by the University of London Press at the School of Advanced Study. It forms part of the School’s mission to embrace the opportunities of digital content delivery and enable greater access to knowledge.
Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.
National Geographic - History & Culture
The National Geographic online website and resource.
Oxford Linguistics Encyclopedia
Browse topics such as, Applied Linguistics, Biology of Language, Cognitive Science
Computational Linguistics, and Historical Linguistics.
open course/ textbooks
4Humanities is an advocacy initiative for the humanities focused on placing the value of the humanities before the public. We draw in particular on the expertise of the international digital humanities community.
Art History Resources on the Web
Collection of Internet sources on the history of art, organized by time period.
"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Contains images of books and journal articles published in the 19th century. Maintained by the University of Michigan.
Includes over 2,000 English-language poems by over 300 poets from the early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century.
Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University)
Digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. Includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.
Guide to humanities resources on the Internet. Maintained by the University of California - Santa Barbara.
America in Class from the National Humanities Center
Collections of primary resources compatible with the Common Core State Standards — historical documents, literary texts, and works of art — thematically organized with notes and discussion questions.
By collecting comprehensive, up-to-date statistical information, the Humanities Indicators provide a nonpartisan, objective picture of how the humanities are faring in the United States today.
the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.” The site indexes 1800 art sites. It contains 60,000+ links to 150,000 artworks by 8,100 artists
Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
The Library of Congress offers this portal to international collections and repositories all over the world.
Offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents for countries around the world.
The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
he mission of HumanitiesWeb is to build a humanities site that will show the interconnections, the web, the links, between history, the arts, and culture - and how each plays off and influences the others. The internet provides a unique and new forum for advancing new ideas and sharing learned ones - I think we need to take advantage of that.
History and Philosophy of the Humanities by 
Art and Design Education in Times of Change by 
Art and Human Development by 
UNDERSTANDING CULTURE by