Writing in Sociology by 
Generation Z by Use CDC (Centers for Disease Control) Wonder to find health related data for the United States
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration data portal. A part of the US Department of Health and Human Services.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
"The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
National Center for Health Statistics
The ARF is a database of health resources data, measured at the county level for over 6,000 indicators. The information includes measures of employment in various health professions; availability of health facilities; and frequency of utilization; hospital and Medicare expenditures. The database is freely available to download.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
The County Health Rankings data are a compilation of county-level data on health outcomes, health behavior, health facilities, and socio-economic and environmental measures. There are data for annual rankings for 2010 onward and trend data for select indicators that cover longer ranges of years.
National Center for Education Statistics
National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
Research and Resources to Tackle Critical Issues in Education
EDStats - the World Bank Education Statistics Database
contains an extensive range of international data pertaining to education, both in tables and databases.
U.S. Schools - Desegregation Court Cases and School Demographic Data
This project at Brown University "includes data for the period 1970-2010 about desegregation court cases, trends in racial composition and segregation of elementary schools, and additional information about poverty, teacher-student ratios, and performance on standardized state tests
Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education.
The Social Science Data Analysis Network makes the latest US census surveys and demographic trends accessible to educators, policy makers, the media, and students at all levels.
Tables break down data on births, birth rates, and fertility rates by race, age, state and region, residency status, marital status and other indicators. Many tables include data from previous years some back to 1909.
A comprehensive survey of American family life from the Center for Demography and Ecology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
The General Social Survey from the National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Thematic Research Network on Data and Statistics
The global hub for real-time SDG data.
The Current Population Survey is a joint project between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Census Bureau. The CPS is a monthly survey that collects basic socio-demographic information, labor force characteristics, and economic status.
Oxford University's MigrationOxford research hub includes the International Migration Institute Network, which hosts various datasets on migration flows (total and bilateral) and migration policies for dozens of countries since 1945.
The ACS has replaced the old "long-form" version of the Decennial Census and is now used to collect the more detailed socio-economic information that the Decennial Census no longer gathers.
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.
The Urban Institute: Nonpartisan Economic and Social Policy Research
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations
Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.
The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government. This page link provides a listing of topic or research areas.
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. It contains Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research.
World Bank Data Catalog -- As part of its Open Data Initative, the World Bank has opened up access to dozens of its data collections and compiled into a single data catalog. The holdings here range from larger databases covering multiple topics to more narrowly-focused collections associated with particular research projects. You can also search for World Bank data by country or by looking for specific indicators.
"Data Quality in Research: What If We're Watering the Garden While the House Is On Fire?" -- A commentary from a World Bank economist on the implications of data quality for policy analysis and recommendations and on the need for researchers to pay greater attention to how data are collected.
State Health Facts -- This resource from the Kaiser Family Foundation is an excellent source for state-level health data for the U.S. It covers topics such as health insurance coverage, health policy reform, health status and conditions, health care providers, and indicators focusing specifically on women's health and the health of ethnic/racial minorities.
Bureau of Economic Analysis -- The BEA is an excellent source for macroeconomic data, with a focus on national accounts - GDP and its components such as income, consumption, investment, and government expenditure. It also provides much data on employment and compensation by industry.
" Gapminder World, a very powerful, web-based data visualization tool that allows instructors and students to quickly visualize and further investigate vital statistics for the world's nations and the development of those statistics over time."
Key national indicators of well-being including education, health and economic security.
Free Speech Movement
Archival collection of primary materials on one of the major student movements of the 60's.
Women & Social Movements in the U.S., 1600 - 2000
Over 1700 primary source documents.
Sociology of Globalization : Cultures, Economies, and Politics by 
Introduction to Research Methods and Report Writing by Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (BJS)
Bureau of Justice Statistics (DOJ)
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prisons - The Statistical Abstract
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Terrorism : A Navy Department Research Guide
Frontiers in Sociology provides an international, scholarly forum for the investigation of society.
Taylor & Francis
Wiley-Blackwell
