Skip to Main Content

HVAC-R: Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration: Air Conditioning Programs at Wiregrass

This guide can be used as a way to begin general research on the topic of air conditioning, find out about the air conditioning programs offered at Wiregrass, and to learn more about careers in the field.

Read more about the HVACR programs Wiregrass offers below! You can also check out course descriptions and information about programs in the Wiregrass Course Catalog. 

Because this is such a high demand profession, almost all companies are hiring! Consider earning a certificate, diploma, or degree in HVAC-R with Wiregrass today!

Course Descriptions

Air Conditioning Course Descriptions

AIRC 1005: Refrigeration Fundamentals (4 hours)
Introduces the basic concepts, theories, and safety regulations and procedures of refrigeration. Topics include an introduction to OSHA, safety, first aid, laws of thermodynamics, pressure and temperature relationships, heat transfer, the refrigerant cycle, refrigerant identification, and types of AC systems.

AIRC 1010: Refrigeration Principles and Practices (4 hours)
Co-requisite: AIRC 1005
This course introduces the student to basic refrigeration system principles and practices, and the major component parts of the refrigeration system. Topics include refrigeration tools, piping practices, service valves, leak testing, refrigerant recovery, recycling, and reclamation, evacuation, charging, and safety.

AIRC 1020: Refrigeration System Components (4 hours)
Co-requisite: AIRC 1005
This course provides the student with the skills and knowledge and skills to install, test, and service major components of a refrigeration system. Topics include compressors, condensers, evaporators, metering devices, service procedures, refrigeration systems and safety.

AIRC 1030: HVACR Electrical Fundamentals (4 hours)
This course provides an introduction to fundamental electrical concepts and theories as applied to the air conditioning industry. Topics include AC and DC theory, electric meters, electrical diagrams, distribution systems, electrical panels, voltage circuits, code requirements, and safety.

AIRC 1040: HVACR Electrical Components and Control (4 hours)
Co-requisite: AIRC 1030 or IDFC 1011
This course provides the student with the skills and knowledge necessary for application and service of electric motors commonly used by the refrigeration and air conditioning industry. Topics include diagnostic techniques, capacitors, installation procedures, types of electric motors, electric motor service, and safety.

AIRC 1050: HVACR Electrical Components and Control (4 hours)
Provides instruction in identifying, installing, and testing commonly used electrical components in an air conditioning system. Topics include: pressure switches, transformers, other commonly used controls, diagnostic techniques, installation procedures, solid state controls, and safety.

AIRC 1060: Air Conditioning System Application/Installation (4 Hours)
Co-requisites: AIRC 1010, AIRC 1030 or IDFC 1011
Provides instruction on the installation and service of residential air conditioning systems. Topics include: installation procedures, split-systems, add-on systems, packaged systems, system wiring, control circuits, and safety.

AIRC 1070: Gas Heat (4 Hours)
Pre-Requisites: AIRC 1030 or IDFC 1011
This course introduces principles of combustion and service requirements for gas heating systems. Topics include servicing procedures, electrical controls, piping, gas valves, venting, code requirements, principles of combustion, and safety.

AIRC 1080: Heat Pump and Related Systems (4 hours)
Co-requisites: AIRC 1010, AIRC 1030 or IDFC 1011
This course provides instruction on the principles, applications, and operation of a residential heat pump system. Topics include installation and servicing procedures, electrical components, geothermal ground source energy supplies, dual fuel, valves, and troubleshooting techniques.

AIRC 1090: Troubleshooting Air Conditioning Systems (4 hours)
Co-requisites: AIRC 1010, AIRC 1030 or IDFC 1011
This course provides instruction on the troubleshooting and repair of major components of a residential air conditioning system. Topics include troubleshooting techniques, electrical controls, air flow, the refrigeration cycle, electrical servicing procedures, and safety.

AIRC 2070: Commercial Refrigeration Design (4 hours)
Provides an increased level of concepts and theory beyond AIRC 1020. Students are introduced to more design theory in commercial refrigeration. Topics include: refrigeration heat calculation, equipment selection, refrigeration piping, codes, and safety.

AIRC 2080: Commercial Refrigeration Applications (4 hours)
Introduces the application of fundamental theories and concepts of refrigeration. Emphasis will be placed on equipment application and installation procedures. Topics include: equipment application, installation procedures, cycle controls, energy management, and safety.

AIRC 2090: Troubleshooting/Servicing Commercial Refrigeration (4 hours)
Continues to provide experience in maintenance techniques in servicing light commercial refrigeration systems. Topics include: system clearing, troubleshooting procedures, replacement of components, and safety.

AIRC 2500: HVACR Internship-Practicum (4 hours)
This course allows the student to gain real-world experience by working with a local industry in the appropriate field for a minimum of 135 hours during the term or, alternatively, an equivalent number of hours on real-world projects at the college.

Faculty and Staff

Scott Watson
Air Conditioning Technology Instructor and Program Coordinator

Valdosta Campus
Phone: 229-468-2212
scott.watson@wiregrass.edu

Air Conditioning Repair Specialist

Air Conditioning Repair Specialist
Technical Certificate of Credit


The Air Conditioning Repair Specialist TCC is a series of courses designed to prepare students for positions in the maintenance and repair of air conditioning systems. A combination of theory and practical application provide for the necessary skills to support industry requirements.

Locations Offered: Valdosta

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and application fee
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Submit official high school transcript or High School Equivalency transcript or college transcripts showing successful completion of 60+ semester credits or 72+ quarter credits
  • Submit official college transcripts, if applicable
  • Present acceptable ACCUPLACER, ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PSAT, or SAT scores, Georgia Milestones Literature/Composition or Georgia Milestones American Literature/Composition (for meeting English requirement only) or GED score of 145 or higher, or have one of the following: an associate degree or higher or have a High School overall GPA of 2.0, a HOPE Scholarship GPA of 2.6 or higher after the completion of 10th grade, or have 2 years documented work experience in the subject area. Documentation on a college transcript of successful completion of appropriate courses from a regionally accredited college or university may be accepted in lieu of test scores.

Courses

  • AIRC 1005: Refrigeration Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1010: Refrigeration Principles and Practices (4)
  • AIRC 1030: HVACR Electrical Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1040: HVACR Electrical Motors (4)
  • AIRC 1050: HVACR Electrical Components and Control (4)
  • AIRC 1070: Gas Heat (4)
  • AIRC 1080: Heat Pumps and Related Systems (4)

Air Conditioning Electrical Technician

Air Conditioning Electrical Technician

Technical Certificate of Credit

The Air Conditioning Electrical Technician program prepares students in the air conditioning area of study to acquire competencies in electricity related to installation, service, and maintenance of electrical systems.

Locations Offered: Valdosta

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and application fee
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Submit official high school transcript or High School Equivalency transcript or college transcripts showing successful completion of 60+ semester credits or 72+ quarter credits
  • Submit official college transcripts, if applicable
  • Present acceptable ACCUPLACER, ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PSAT, or SAT scores, Georgia Milestones Literature/Composition or Georgia Milestones American Literature/Composition (for meeting English requirement only) or GED score of 145 or higher, or have one of the following: an associate degree or higher or have a High School overall GPA of 2.0, a HOPE Scholarship GPA of 2.6 or higher after the completion of 10th grade, or have 2 years documented work experience in the subject area. Documentation on a college transcript of successful completion of appropriate courses from a regionally accredited college or university may be accepted in lieu of test scores.

Courses

  • AIRC 1030: HVACR Electrical Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1040: HVACR Electrical Motors (4)
  • AIRC 1050: HVACR Electrical Components and Control (4)

Air Conditioning Technician Assistant

Air Conditioning Technician Assistant

Technical Certificate of Credit

The Refrigeration Technician Assistant TCC is a series of courses that prepares students to hold positions as refrigeration technician assistants.

Locations Offered: Valdosta

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and application fee
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Submit official high school transcript or High School Equivalency transcript or college transcripts showing successful completion of 60+ semester credits or 72+ quarter credits
  • Submit official college transcripts, if applicable
  • Present acceptable ACCUPLACER, ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PSAT, or SAT scores, Georgia Milestones Literature/Composition or Georgia Milestones American Literature/Composition (for meeting English requirement only) or GED score of 145 or higher, or have one of the following: an associate degree or higher or have a High School overall GPA of 2.0, a HOPE Scholarship GPA of 2.6 or higher after the completion of 10th grade, or have 2 years documented work experience in the subject area. Documentation on a college transcript of successful completion of appropriate courses from a regionally accredited college or university may be accepted in lieu of test scores.

Courses

  • AIRC 1005: Refrigeration Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1010: Refrigeration Principles and Practices (4)
  • AIRC 1020: Refrigeration System Components (4)

Wiregrass Air Conditioning Technology student Angelique Tucker with Jonathan and Richard Miller and Wiregrass Tech Instructor Scott Watson. 
Read the article about Angelique Tucker here.

Air Conditioning Technology - Diploma

Air Conditioning Technology

Diploma

 

The Air Conditioning Technology Diploma program is a sequence of courses that prepares students for careers in the air conditioning industry. Learning opportunities develop academic, occupational, and professional knowledge and skills required for job acquisition, retention, and advancement. The program emphasizes a combination of air conditioning theory and practical application necessary for successful employment. Program graduates receive an Air Conditioning Technology diploma and have the qualification of an air conditioning technician.

Locations Offered: Valdosta

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and application fee
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Submit official high school transcript or High School Equivalency transcript or college transcripts showing successful completion of 60+ semester credits or 72+ quarter credits
  • Submit official college transcripts, if applicable
  • Present acceptable ACCUPLACER, ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PSAT, or SAT scores or GED score of 145 or higher or have one of the following: an associate degree or higher or have a HOPE GPA of 2.6 after the completion of 10th grade. Documentation on a college transcript of successful completion of appropriate courses from a regionally accredited college or university may be accepted in lieu of test scores.

Courses

General Core Courses (8)

  • ENGL 1010: Fundamentals of English I (3)
  • MATH 1012: Foundation of Mathematics (3)
  • EMPL 1000: Interpersonal Relations & Professional Development

Occupational Courses (43)

  • AIRC 1005: Refrigeration Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1010: Refrigeration Principles and Practices (4)
  • AIRC 1020: Refrigeration System Components (4)
  • AIRC 1030: HVACR Electrical Fundamentals (4)
  • AIRC 1040: HVACR Electrical Motors (4)
  • AIRC 1050: HVACR Electrical Components and Control (4)
  • AIRC 1060: Air Conditioning System Application/Installation (4)
  • AIRC 1070: Gas Heat (4)
  • AIRC 1080: Heat Pumps and Related Systems (4)
  • AIRC 1090: Troubleshooting Air Conditioning Systems (4)

Occupational Elective - Choose One of the Following (3 Hours)

  • AIRC 2070: Commercial Refrigeration Design (4)
  • AIRC 2080 : Commercial Refrigeration Applications (4)
  • AIRC 2090: Troubleshooting/Servicing Commercial Refrigeration (4)
  • ELTR 1020: Alternating Current Fundamentals (3)
  • ELTR 1600: Electrical Prints, Schematics, and Symbols (2)
  • ELTR 1205: Residential Wiring I (3)
  • IDFC 1011: Direct Current I (3)
  • IDFC 1012: Alternating Current I (3)
  • IDSY 1101: DC Circuit Analysis (3)
  • IDSY 1105: AC Circuit Analysis (3)
  • IDSY 1110: Industrial Motor Controls I (4)

Choose One of the Following (3 Hours)

  • COLL 1010: College Career Success Skills (3)
  • COMP 2000: Into. to Technology and Computer Application (3)

Advanced Commercial Refrigeration

Advanced Commercial Refrigeration 

Technical Certificate of Credit

 

The Advanced Commercial Refrigeration TCC is a sequence of courses that prepares diploma or degree graduates or air conditioning technicians for careers in the commercial refrigeration air conditioning industry. The program emphasizes a combination of theory and practical application necessary of successful employment. Program graduates receive an Advanced Commercial Refrigeration Technical Certificate of Credit.

Locations Offered: Valdosta

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and application fee
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Submit official high school transcript or High School Equivalency transcript or college transcripts showing successful completion of 60+ semester credits or 72+ quarter credits
  • Submit official college transcripts, if applicable
  • Present acceptable ACCUPLACER, ACT, ASSET, COMPASS, PSAT, or SAT scores, Georgia Milestones Literature/Composition or Georgia Milestones American Literature/Composition (for meeting English requirement only) or GED score of 145 or higher, or have one of the following: an associate degree or higher or have a High School overall GPA of 2.0, a HOPE Scholarship GPA of 2.6 or higher after the completion of 10th grade, or have 2 years documented work experience in the subject area. Documentation on a college transcript of successful completion of appropriate courses from a regionally accredited college or university may be accepted in lieu of test scores.

Courses

  • AIRC 12070: Commercial Refrigeration Design (4)
  • AIRC 2080: Commercial Refrigeration Applications (4)
  • AIRC 2090: Troubleshooting/Servicing Commercial Refrigeration (4)

HOPE Career Grant

All air conditioning and refrigeration programs at Wiregrass (Air Conditioning Technology Diploma program, Air Conditioning Repair Specialist Technical Certificate of Credit, Advanced Commercial Refrigeration Technical Certificate of Credit, Air Conditioning Electrical Technician Technical Certificate of Credit, and the Air Conditioning Technician Assistant Technical Certificate of Credit) qualify for the HOPE Career Grant!
This is available to students who are HOPE Grant eligible and are enrolled in any of the programs that are HOPE Career Grant eligible. The award for the grant is based on credit hours with the maximum award per term being $500. Learn more here. 

Experienced Worker Certification Form

Experienced Worker Certification Form