Program Description: Early Childhood Care and Education Diploma program is a sequence of courses designed to prepare students for a variety of careers in the field of early childhood education. The program emphasizes a combination of early childhood care and education theory and practical application as well as limited general core competencies necessary for successful employment. Graduates have qualifications to be employed in early care and education settings including child care centers and Head Start.
ECC MAJOR PROGRAM OF STUDY CLASSES
ECCE 1101 Introduction to Early Childhood Care and Education
Introduces concepts relating the responsibilities and procedures involved in a variety of early childhood care situations. Topics include historical perspectives; professionalism; guidance; developmentally appropriate practices; learning environment (including all children); cultural diversity; and licensing, accreditation, and credentialing.
ECCE 1103 Child Growth and Development
Introduces the student to the physical, social, emotional, and cognitive development of the young child (prenatal through 12 years of age). The course provides for competency development in observing, recording, and interpreting growth and development stages in the young child; advancing physical and intellectual competence; supporting social and emotional development; and examining relationships between child development and positive guidance. Topics include developmental characteristics, prenatal through age 12, developmental guidance applications, observing and recording techniques, ages and stages of development, and introduction to children with special needs.
ECCE 1105 Health, Safety and Nutrition
Introduces the theory, practices, and requirements for establishing and maintaining a safe, healthy learning environment. Topics include CPR and first aid, health issues, safety issues, child abuse and neglect, and nutritional needs of children.
ECCE 1112 Curriculum and Assessment
Provides student with an understanding of developmentally effective approaches to teaching, learning, observing, documenting and assessment strategies that promote positive development for young children. The course will enable the student to establish a learning environment appropriate for young children and to identify the goals, benefits, and uses of assessment in the development of curriculum for young children. Topics include observing, documenting, and assessing; learning environments; development of curriculum plans and materials; curriculum approaches; and instructional media.
ECCE 1113 Creative Activities for Child
Introduces the concepts related to creativity in art,music, movement and creative drama, and facilitating children's creative expression across the curriculum. Topics include concepts of creativity and expression; theories of young children's creative development; facilitation of children's creative expression, media, methods and materials across the curriculum; appreciation of children's art processes and products; appreciation of children's creativity in music, movement and dance; appreciation of children's creative expression in play and creative drama; and art and music appreciation.
ECCE 1121 Early Childhood Care and Education Practicum
Provides the student with the opportunity to gain a supervised experience in a practicum placement site allowing demonstration of techniques obtained from course work. Practicum topics include promoting child development and learning; building family and community relationships; observing, documenting, and assessing to support young children and families; teaching and learning; becoming a professional; and guidance techniques and classroom management.
ECCE 2115 Language and Literacy
Develops knowledge, skills, and abilities in supporting young children's literacy acquisition and development, birth through age twelve. Topics include developmental continuum of reading and writing, literacy acquisition birth to five years of age, literacy acquisition in kindergarten, literacy acquisition in early grades, and literacy acquisition in children who are culturally and linguistically diverse.
ECCE 2116 Math and Science
Presents the process of introducing math and science concepts to young children. Includes planning and implementation of developmentally appropriate activities and development of math and science materials, media and methods. Topics include inquiry approach to learning; cognitive stages and developmental processes in developing math and science concepts with children birth to five; cognitive stages and developmental processes in developing math and science concepts with children in kindergarten and primary grades; planning math and science activities; and development of math and science materials, media and methods.
ECCE 2202 Social Issues and Family Involvement
Enables the student to value the complex characteristics of children's families and communities and to develop culturally responsive practices which will support family partnerships. Students use their understanding to build reciprocal relationships which promote children's development and learning. Students are introduced to local programs and agencies that offer services to children and families within the community. Topics include professional responsibilities, family/social issues, community resources, family education and support, teacher-family communication, community partnerships, social diversity and anti-bias concerns, successful transitions, and school-family activities.
ECCE 2203 Guidance and Classroom Management
Examines effective guidance practices in group settings based upon the application of theoretical models of child development and of developmentally appropriate practices. Focus will be given to individual, family, and cultural diversity. Topics will include developmentally appropriate child guidance (birth through 12); effective classroom management, including preventive and interventive techniques; understanding challenging behaviors; and implementing guidance plans.
ECCE 2245 Early Childhood Care and Education Internship I
Provides the student with the opportunity to gain a supervised experience in an actual or simulated work site allowing demonstration of techniques obtained from course work. Internship topics include promoting child development and learning; building family and community relations; observing, documenting, and assessing to support young children and families; using developmentally effective approaches; using content knowledge to build meaningful curriculum; and becoming a professional.
ECCE 2246 Early Childhood Care and Education Internship II
Provides the student with the opportunity to gain a supervised experience in an actual or simulated work site allowing demonstration of techniques obtained from course work. Internship topics include promoting child development and learning; building family and community relations; observing, documenting, and assessing to support young children and families; using developmentally effective approaches; using content knowledge to build meaningful curriculum; and becoming a professional.
ECCE 2310 Paraprofessional Methods and Materials
Develops the instructional skills to enable the student to work as a paraprofessional in a program for kindergarten through elementary age children. Topics include assessment and curriculum, instructional techniques, and methods for instruction in a learning environment.
ECCE 2312 Paraprofessional Role and Practice
Develops skills to enable the student to work as a paraprofessional in a program for kindergarten through elementary aged children. Topics include professional qualifications, professional and ethical conduct, professionalism and employment, and paraprofessional roles and responsibilities.
ECCE 2320 Program Administration and Facility Management
Provides training in planning, implementation, and maintenance of an effective early childhood program and facility. Topics include organization, mission, philosophy, goals of a program; types of programs; laws, rules, regulations, accreditation, and program evaluation; needs assessment; administrative roles and board of directors; anti-bias program development; child development and developmentally appropriate practices; marketing, public and community relations, grouping, enrollment and retention; working with families; professionalism and work ethics; space management; money management; and program, equipment, and supplies management.
ECCE 2322 Personnel Management
Provides training in early childhood personnel management. Topics include staff records; communication; personnel policies; managing payroll; recruitment, interviewing, selection, hiring, motivating, and firing; staff retention; staff scheduling; staff development; staff supervision; conflict resolution; staff evaluations; ethical responsibilities to employees; and time and stress management.
ECCE 2360 Classroom Strategies for Exceptional Children
Prepares child care providers and paraprofessionals with knowledge and skills in the areas of working effectively with children with a disability; working with families as partners; examining the laws and regulations; exploring resources, service providers, and agencies that may assist the child and his/her family; examining the adaptations and modifications to facilities and environments; reviewing the referral process; implementing inclusion; modifying instruction to accommodate the child with special needs; and investigating ways to document and chart observations.
ECCE 2362 Exploring Your Role in Exceptional Environment
Prepares child care providers and paraprofessionals with knowledge and skills for screening and assessing purposes; and explores resources, service providers, and agencies that may assist the child and families in educational or natural settings. Examines adaptations, accommodations, and modifications to environments; reviews the referral process; implements inclusion and modifies instruction to accommodate the child with special needs.
| General Core Courses | 8 |
|---|---|
| ENGL 1010 Fundamentals of English I | 3 |
| MATH 1012 Foundations of Mathematics | 3 |
| Choose One of the Following (2 Hours) | 2 |
| EMPL 1000 Interpersonal Relations & Professional Development | 2 |
| PSYC 1010 Basic Psychology | 3 |
| Occupational Courses | 33 |
|---|---|
| ECCE 1101 Introduction to Early Childhood Care and Education | 3 |
| ECCE 1103 Child Growth and Development | 3 |
| ECCE 1105 Health, Safety and Nutrition | 3 |
| ECCE 1112 Curriculum and Assessment | 3 |
| ECCE 1113 Creative Activities for Child | 3 |
| ECCE 1121 Early Childhood Care and Education Practicum | 3 |
| ECCE 2115 Language and Literacy | 3 |
| ECCE 2116 Math and Science | 3 |
| ECCE 2202 Social Issues and Family Involvement | 3 |
| ECCE 2203 Guidance and Classroom Management | 3 |
| Choose One of the Following (3 Hours) | 3 |
| COLL 1010 College and Career Success Skills | 3 |
| COMP 2000 Intro. to Technology and Computer Application | 3 |
| Internship Options - Choose One of the Options Below (12 Hours) | 12 |
|---|---|
| ECCE Internships (12 Hours) | 12 |
| ECCE 2245 Early Childhood Care and Education Internship I | 6 |
| ECCE 2246 Early Childhood Care and Education Internship II | 6 |
| ECCE Internship and Electives (12 Hours) | 12 |
| ECCE 2245 Early Childhood Care and Education Internship I | 6 |
| Choose Two of the Following (6 Hours) | 6 |
| ECCE 2310 Paraprofessional Methods and Materials | 3 |
| ECCE 2312 Paraprofessional Role and Practice | 3 |
| ECCE 2320 Program Administration and Facility Management | 3 |
| ECCE 2322 Personnel Management | 3 |
| ECCE 2360 Classroom Strategies for Exceptional Children | 3 |
| ECCE 2362 Exploring Your Role in Exceptional Environment | 3 |