Business Technology
This three-four semester program focuses on information technology applications and the latest in high-tech office administration. In addition to word processing, database, spreadsheets, presentations, and desktop publishing courses, students have the option of enrolling in courses that prepare them to work in, and manage, a medical office. Opportunities to attain national industry certification are provided within the program. The Business Technology degree program is offered on the Ben Hill-Irwin, Coffee, and Valdosta campuses. The Business Technology diploma program is offered on all four campuses. Most classes are available online as well.
BUSN 1100: Introduction to Keyboarding
This course introduces the touch system of keyboarding placing emphasis on correct techniques. Topics include: computer hardware, computer software, file management, learning the alphabetic keyboard, the numeric keyboard and keypad, building speed and accuracy, and proofreading. Students attain a minimum of 25 GWAM (gross words a minute) on 3-minute timings with no more than 3 errors.
BUSN 1190: Digital Technologies in Business
Provides an overview of digital technology used for conducting business. Students will learn the application of business activities using various digital platforms.
Emphasizes essential skills required for the business office. Topics include: office protocol, time management, telecommunications and telephone techniques, office equipment, workplace mail, records management, travel/meeting arrangements, electronic mail, and workplace documents.
BUSN 1300: Introduction to Business
Introduces organization and management concepts of the business world and in the office environment. Topics include business in a global economy, starting and organizing a business, enterprise management, marketing strategies and financial management.
BUSN 1340: Customer Service Effectiveness
This course emphasizes the importance of customer service throughout all businesses. Topics include: customer service challenges and problem solving; strategies for successful customer service; effective communication and dealing with difficult customers; empowerment, motivation, and leadership; customer retention and satisfaction measurement; and excellence in customer service.
This course covers the knowledge and skills required to use word processing software through course demonstrations, laboratory exercises and projects. Minimal document keying will be necessary as students will work with existing documents to learn the functions and features of the word processing application. Topics and assignments will include: word processing concepts, customizing documents, formatting content, working with visual content, organizing content, reviewing documents, sharing and securing content.
BUSN 1410: Spreadsheet Concepts and Applications
This course covers the knowledge and skills required to use spreadsheet software through course demonstrations, laboratory exercises and projects. Topics and assignments will include: spreadsheet concepts, creating and manipulating data, formatting data and content, creating and modifying formulas, presenting data visually and, collaborating and securing data.
BUSN 1420: Database Applications
This course covers the knowledge and skills required to use database management software through course demonstrations, laboratory exercises and projects. Topics and assignments will include: database concepts, structuring databases, creating and formatting database elements, entering and modifying data, creating and modifying queries, presenting and sharing data and, managing and maintaining databases.
BUSN 1430: Desktop Publication and Presentation Applications
This course covers the knowledge and skills required to use desktop publishing (DTP) software and presentation software to create business publications and presentations. Course work will include course demonstrations, laboratory exercises and projects. Topics include: desktop publishing concepts, basic graphic design, publication layout, presentation design, and practical applications.
BUSN 1440: Document Production
Reinforces the touch system of keyboarding placing emphasis on correct techniques with adequate speed and accuracy and producing properly formatted business documents. Topics include: reinforcing correct keyboarding technique, building speed and accuracy, formatting business documents, language arts, proofreading, and work area management.
BUSN 2160: Electronic Mail Applications
This course provides instruction in the fundamentals of communicating with others inside and outside the organization via a personal information management program. Emphasizes the concepts necessary for individuals and workgroups to organize, find, view, and share information via electronic communication channels. Topics include: Internal and External Communication, Message Management, Calendar Management, Navigation, Contact and Task Management, and Security and Privacy.
BUSN 2190: Business Document Proofreading and Editing
Emphasizes proper proofreading and editing for business documents. Topics include: applying proofreading techniques and proofreaders marks with business documents; proper content, clarity, and conciseness in business documents; and business document formatting.
BUSN 2210 Web Page Design: Applied Office Procedures
This course focuses on applying knowledge and skills learned in prior courses taken in the program. Topics include: communications skills, telecommunications skills, records management skills, office equipment/supplies, and integrated programs/applications. Serves as a capstone course.
BUSN 2240: Business Administration Assistant Internship I
Provides student work experience in a professional environment. Topics include: application of classroom knowledge and skills, work environment functions, and listening/following directions. Students will be under the supervision of the Business Administrative Technology program faculty and/or persons designated to coordinate work experience arrangements.
BUSN 2250: Business Administration Assistant Internship II
Provides student work experience in a professional environment. Topics include: application of classroom knowledge and skills, work environment functions, and listening/following directions. Students will be under the supervision of the Business Administrative Technology program faculty and/or persons designated to coordinate work experience arrangements.
