LibGuides Blog

Nursing Students

Click HERE to see our library libguide. You will find:

• Library Resources on Nursing fundamentals and skills
• Books & Ebooks relating to the Nursing Program of Study
• Nursing Certifications
• Additional Resources and Links
• Nursing Research and Evaluating Websites for Credibility
• Open education resources for the Nursing Program
• Copyright & Fair use / Plagiarism

Visit PrepSTEP to find practice steps, tutorials and eBooks.

Once you are these click on the Career Preparation box.

Then scroll down and click on the Prepare for Nursing Exams link.

Once you click the link scroll down for the list of exams. You will need to create an account (which takes just a minute) to take the tests.

Click HERE to visit the Mometrix eLibrary. Here you will find practice test questions and study guides.

Films on Demand Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles. You can find it HERE.  Videos are available for the following topics and more:

The following books are available through the library. Stop by to check one out!

Some of these may be on other campuses but we can have then sent to this campus for you. 

Maternity Nursing Care by Lynna Y. Littleton; Joan C. Engebretson

Publication Date: 2004-10-14

Only have time for the essentials? Maternity Nursing Care provides the core components of safe nursing practice for the obstetric client through application of the nursing process. Chronologically organized, the book covers women's health, pregnancy care, labor and childbirth, postpartum care, and newborn development. Both normal and high-risk pregnancy situations are addressed, including appropriate nursing considerations. Through prioritization of health promotion, emphasizing "care" over "treatment", and fostering the nurse-client relationship, the perspective is uniquely geared to the nurse. Essentially, this is the resource of choice for maternity nursing.

 

Introduction to Maternity and Pediatric Nursing by Gloria Leifer

Publication Date: 2010-09-29

Part of the popular LPN Threads series, Introduction to Maternity & Pediatric Nursing provides a solid foundation in obstetrics and pediatric nursing. An easy-to-follow organization by developmental stages, discussion of disorders by body system from simple-to-complex and health-to-illness, and a focus on family health make it a complete guide to caring for maternity and pediatric patients. Written in a clear, concise style by Gloria Leifer, MA, RN, this edition reflects the current NCLEX® test plan with additional material on safety, health promotion, nutrition, and related psychosocial care. Cultural Considerations boxes and a Cultural Assessment Data Collection Tool help in developing individualized plans of care. Updated health promotion content includes Health Promotion boxes focusing on preventive strategies for achieving prenatal wellness, health during pregnancy, postnatal health, and pediatric illness prevention and wellness -- including the complete immunization schedules for all ages. Nursing Tips provide information applying to the clinical setting.

All-in-One Care Planning Resource by Pamela L. Swearingen

Publication Date: 2007-10-01

Unlike any other care plan book on the market, this resource contains selected care plans for pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric nursing in addition to medical-surgical nursing care plans for adult care. This is the only care planning resource that allows you to use one book throughout your nursing curriculum. Color-coded medical-surgical, maternity, pediatric, and psychiatric sections help you quickly find each content area while giving the book a full-color look and feel. Clinical experts update each subject area to ensure the most current, accurate, and clinically relevant content available. Each care plan employs a consistent format of Overview/Pathophysiology, Health Care Setting, Assessment, Diagnostic Tests, Nursing Diagnoses, Desired Outcomes, Interventions with Rationales, and Patient-Family Teaching and Discharge Planning. An open and attractive two-color design facilitates quick and easy retrieval of information. Nursing interventions and rationales are listed in a clear two-column format to make the information more accessible. 

Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing by Susan Scott Ricci

Publication Date: 2006-02-24

This primary "essentials textbook" is intended specifically as the course text for the standard, increasingly shortened Maternity courses. The book covers topics of importance without providing the unnecessary detail that is seen in virtually all essentials maternity texts on the market today.

 

 

Maternal Child Nursing Care by Donna L. Wong; Marilyn J. Hockenberry; Deitra Leonard Lowdermilk; Shannon E. Perry; David Wilson

Publication Date: 2005-11-11

Designed for shorter pediatric and maternity nursing courses, this useful textbook provides students with the "right amount" of maternity and pediatric content in an up-to-date, easy-to-understand manner. Divided into two sections, the first part of the book includes 28 chapters covering maternity nursing content and the second part contains 27 chapters covering pediatric nursing content. Numerous illustrations, photos, and tables help illustrate and clarify the information for the student. Many special boxes, pedagogical features, and an inviting full-color design also help make key information easy to find and review.