Nursing

An online human anatomy and physiology textbook that includes introductory tutorials and short quizzes designed to test the visitors on each topic.

Non-searchable, graphical representations of ten anatomy systems: skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, nervous, cardiovascular, male & female reproductive, and urinary. Graphics are interactive and users can view animations of the systems, tutorials, and descriptions. The site is for-profit, so expect a few ads.

University of Nebraska Medical Center's excellent portal with evaluated, annotated links to online image collections organized into categories: General; Anatomy and Histology; Cardiology; Dermatology; Embryology; Ear, Nose, and Throat; Endoscopy; Neurology; Pathology; and Pediatrics.

The simulation-based training modules include lessons on heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure assessment and EKGs. The quick reference guides are a timely information source at the point of care. From Medical Simulation and Training, LLC.

176 free nursing quizzes with 13,492 questions

Aiding learning in human anatomy

anatomy dissection

The Anatomy and Physiology module introduces the structure and function of the human body. You will read about the cells, tissues and membranes that make up our bodies and how our major systems function to help us develop and stay healthy.

In true 3D, you can literally see any combination of anatomical features! View any muscle and bone combination to easily learn origins and insertions. View any joint, organ or system to learn about how your body works and cut away layers of anatomy to see the human body from a completely unique perspective!

This Flash-based tutorial is aimed at health consumers rather than health professionals, but you may find it a quick refresher on medical terms.

Human Body Maps is an interactive anatomy tool, but with the ability to rotate images in 3D. Clicking structures retrieves relevant text.

The Medical Animation Library from the Penn Medicine website provides links to many medical animations arranged by body system and medical specialty.

resource site for teachers and students of Anatomy and Physiology. Find quizzes, diagrams, and slide presentations on structures, functions, and systems.

Access anatomy tables, organized by system and by body region from UAMS Department of Neurobiology and Developmental Sciences

An open access journal publishing original, peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of nursing research, training, education, and practice.

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z", also includes health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

Over 4,000 journals. All articles are NOT freely available --be sure to read the journal description to determine when free content is published (ex. "Certain sections are free after 6 months"). Site reviewed October, 2013.

Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.

Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.

Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.

In addition to issuing, renewing and reinstating nursing licenses for RNs and LPNs Board responsibilities include: approving and monitoring the state’s nursing education programs which lead to initial licensure; interpreting the practice of nursing based upon the state’s Nursing Practice Act; investigating complaints against licensed nurses; administering the nurse licensure compact; maintaining the Nurse Aide II registry and regulating the practice of Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Midwives.

Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, and how to obtain birth certificates.

Provides health figures related to birth defects, cancer, county-level data, vital statistics, and other data.

Free, peer-reviewed, international journal addressing topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider healthcare sector. A scholarly journal of the American Nurses Association.

Peer-reviewed literature published by doctors and scientists. Topic coverage: biology, medicine, clinical trials, genetics, public health, international health issues and research.

Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

A "freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes."

Dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through funding of nursing research and research training

An evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this agency conducts and sponsors research on health care quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness. Includes research section devoted to nursing.

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z", also includes health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

Finding and using health statistics has become requisite for a number of careers in the past several decades. It's also a worthwhile skill for anyone navigating the increasingly complex world of health care and medicine. This free online course from the U.S. National Library of Medicine is divided into three related parts: About Health Statistics, Finding Health Statistics, and Supporting Material. Selecting any of these tabs opens to a table of contents. From there, readers can follow the course page by page. For instance, About Health Statistics begins by reviewing the importance of health stats, moves on to their uses, and then speaks about sources for the gathering of statistics, such as population surveys and registers of diseases. ~From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2015. https://www.scout.wisc.edu

Over 4,000 journals. All articles are NOT freely available --be sure to read the journal description to determine when free content is published (ex. "Certain sections are free after 6 months"). Site reviewed October, 2013.

Huge, up-to-date collection of medical images and information arranged by "Subject Clusters" and is also browsable and searchable. From the University of Iowa's Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.

Excellent source of information for U.S. heath policy news, health data for all 50 states, a health reform primer (see The Basics section), along with interactive time lines, calculators, and infographics to explain issues central to the current health care system and the changes that are currently happening.
Other major topics covered include Minority Health, Women's Health Policy, and U.S. Global Health Policy.
Provided by the nonpartisan Kaiser Family Foundation.

Help clients understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Searchabe by test, condition, or recommended screenings.

Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.

From U.S. Health and Human Services Department, the largest U.S. provider of health-related statistics

Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.

Peer-reviewed literature published by doctors and scientists. Topic coverage: biology, medicine, clinical trials, genetics, public health, international health issues and research.

Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Type a search term in the "Search Books" textbox to search the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf of free, full-text biomedical books.

simulator. has some free cases but account Subscription required for full access.

"Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME."

The Learning Nurse Resources Network is an online professional development center for nurses of all levels and educational backgrounds.