1910: start of the Great Migration
1914: World War I
1917: Ellen Glasgow’s Dare’s Gift was published
1919: 18th amendment ratified
1920: Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence / Nineteenth Amendment which granted women's right to vote
1920's - 1930's: Harlem Renaissance / Southern Literary
1925: The Great Gatsby was published by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Renascence or Southern Literary Renaissance
1929 to 1939: Great Depression
Federal Writers’ Project
1920-1933: Prohibition of Alcohol
Between 1930 - 1940's: Dust Bowl or drought in the southwestern great plains
1933: Franklin Roosevelt becomes president / New Deal Era
1936: Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind was published
1937: John Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men
1939: John Steinbeck's Novel The Grapes of Wrath
1941: United States enters World War II after Attack on Pearl Harbor / Ellen Glasgow's In This Our Life was published
1945: End of WWII
A Student's Guide to Robert Frost by 
Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
Dictionary of American Literary Characters by 
Encyclopedia of Pulp Fiction Writers by 
Encyclopedia of Beat Literature by 
Encyclopedia of the Chicago Literary Renaissance by 
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by From the University of Nebraska - Lincoln, comes this excellent site, containing extensive information on Cather and her times, including reliable annotated e-texts, a biography, bibliographies, illustrations, and links.
Center for Faulkner Studies
The Center for Faulkner Studies started at Southeast Missouri State University in 1989 is devoted to the study of William Faulkner.
Poetry Foundation: E. E. Cummings
Index of 20th Century American and British Literature (Alphabetical by Author)
A Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance From Poets.Org
The Harlem Renaissance - History.com
The site contains information on the great migration, important people of the Harlem Renaissance, and the impact the Renaissance had on the life and culture of African Americans.
Zora Neale Hurston Digital Archive from the University of Central Florida
The Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies
Contains information on, as well as the text of poems by Rupert Brooke, Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg and others. There is also a chronology of World War I and a bibliography. Also includes some audio material. Maintained by Harry Rusche (Emory University).
Modernist Period (1910 - 1945)
/Edna-St-Vincent-Millay-153997011x-56aa24fc3df78cf772ac89f8.jpg)
