Surgical Technology : OER Surgical Technology Resources

Animated text narrations and quizzes to explain the structures and functions of the human body systems.

Learn Medical Terminology in a quick and engaging way by using the best selling book by Andy Hutton. An Introduction to Medical Terminology for Health Care (Pub. Elsevier Ltd.)Try the free exercises on this site and our Apps on Google Play to support your learning.

Online flash cards for learning Medical Terminology.

This game is meant for 2 or more people. After the prefix or suffix, there will be a number. That number indicates the amount of points that prefix or suffix is worth based on difficulty. There will also be an example after each answer to help you study.

This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.

Practical Clinical Skills provides training and reference guides for EKG interpretation, taking blood pressure and auscultation of heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds and carotid bruit.

This site, created by Dr. Wheeless and Dr. Roenneberg, provides detailed illustrations and explanations of a variety of pelvic surgeries.

This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting.

A dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.

The Health IT Workforce Curriculum was developed for U.S. community colleges to enhance workforce training programmes in health information technology.

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness.

The Merck Manuals Consumer Version offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy, written in everyday language.

The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy.

The Encyclopedia of Surgery has been written by various experts in the field of surgery and has been written specifically for healthcare students and patients. The Encyclopedia covers 450 surgical procedures and topics such as laser surgery, hysterectomy, endoscopy, cryosurgery, anesthetics, biopsy, angioplasty, medications and postoperative care, and many related subjects

It is a charge-free website specialized in minimally invasive surgery and dedicated to the promotion of medical and surgical training skills.