When conducting Research, you might want to read reviews of the work, articles about the work, and articles about the writer as well as use evidence from the literature to be discussed. Use the following resources listed below to start your research:
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
by
American Literature from 1600 Through the 1850s
by
English Literature from the Restoration Through the Romantic Period
by
Encyclopedia of American Literature
by
English Literature from the 19th Century Through Today
by
Writing about American Literature
by
Literature for Composition
by
The Yellow Wall-Paper, Herland, and Selected Writings
by
Short Story Writers and Short Stories
by
The Sketch, the Tale, and the Beginnings of American Literature
by
Charlotte Perkins Gilman's Short Stories As Social Criticism
by
Historical Dictionary of Romanticism in Literature
by
Poets.org, by the Academy of American Poets
The Poetry Archive – Recordings of famous poets reading and discussing their poems
Literary Criticism at Drexel University: Contains full text criticism and historical context for a number of American authors and offers author, title, and time period searches
Literary Criticism on the Internet: Online literary criticism for British and American authors of the 19th and 20th centuries, with links to overviews, biographical information, and criticism of individual works.
Links to resources on American authors, a timeline, literary movements and other American literature sites created by Professor Donna Campbell of Washington State University.
Teacher Resources - American Literature
Teacher resources for teaching literature, reading, writing, and critical thinking skills.
Listing over 3 million free books on the Web - Updated Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Short Stories and Classic Literature
When conducting research you may come across many different types of sources and each source falls under a specific category. There are three main categories of sources which include Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary.
Primary source is a firsthand account of information by an individual with close connections to a topic. Ex: autobiographies, personal correspondences like diaries, government documents, documentaries, archives, works of art and literature, statistical data, and newspaper articles written by reporters close to the source.
Secondary Source is a source that is not involved or close to the event, usually written after the event has happened. Secondary sources describe, analyze, interpret, comment, and summarize a primary source. Ex: biographies, interpretation of statistics and data, book reviews, scholarly articles that talk about someone else's research, and anything written after an historical event that reevaluates what happened.
Tertiary sources contain information that is used to locate or find primary or secondary sources. Ex: almanacs, timelines, dictionaries and encyclopedias, directories, guidebooks, indexes, abstracts, manuals, and textbooks.
Various types of resources available for your research assignment or paper.
Evaluating sources involves recognizing that not all information you read is valid or credible especially when using online resources. The following links will give you a general breakdown of sources and the process of conducting research
When looking for accurate, reliable, credible sources use the Acronym CRAAP to help you decide if the information you are given is right for your research:
Check out the following handouts and links for further assistance:
CRAAP handout- Evaluating Resources
Checklist For evaluating sources
A teaching resource created by the MLA Style Center. Checklist for determining if sites are reliable.
