Mechatronics: Books on Mechatronics

Recent studies highlight the application of artificial intelligence, machine learning, and simulation techniques in engineering. This book covers the successful implementation of different intelligent techniques in various areas of engineering focusing on common areas between mechatronics and civil engineering. The power of artificial intelligence and machine learning techniques in solving some examples of real-life problems in engineering is highlighted in this book. The implementation process to design the optimum intelligent models is discussed in this book.

The Industrial Electronics Handbook, Second Edition combines traditional and newer, more specialized knowledge that will help industrial electronics engineers develop practical solutions for the design and implementation of high-power applications. Embracing the broad technological scope of the field, this collection explores fundamental areas, including analog and digital circuits, electronics, electromagnetic machines, signal processing, and industrial control and communications systems. It also facilitates the use of intelligent systems--such as neural networks, fuzzy systems, and evolutionary methods--in terms of a hierarchical structure that makes factory control and supervision more efficient by addressing the needs of all production components. Enhancing its value, this fully updated collection presents research and global trends as published in the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics Journal, one of the largest and most respected publications in the field. Control and Mechatronics presents concepts of control theory in a way that makes them easily understandable and practically useful for engineers or students working with control system applications. Focusing more on practical applications than on mathematics, this book avoids typical theorems and proofs and instead uses plain language and useful examples to: Concentrate on control system analysis and design, comparing various techniques Cover estimation, observation, and identification of the objects to be controlled--to ensure accurate system models before production Explore the various aspects of robotics and mechatronics Other volumes in the set: Fundamentals of Industrial Electronics Power Electronics and Motor Drives Industrial Communication Systems Intelligent Systems

Engineering Creative Design in Robotics and Mechatronics captures the latest research developments in the subject field of robotics and mechatronics and provides relevant theoretical knowledge in this field. Providing interdisciplinary development approaches, this reference source prepares students, scientists, and professional engineers with the latest research development to enhance their skills of innovative design capabilities.

Mechatronic Components: Roadmap to Design explains the practical application of mechatronics, including sections on adaptive structures, robotics and other areas where mechanics and electronics converge. Professional engineers in a variety of areas will find this textbook to be extremely helpful with its in-depth use of flow diagrams and schemes that help readers understand the logic behind the design of such systems. Using approximately 130 different components with diagrams and flowcharts that help engineers from different fields understand the general properties and selection criteria of a component, this book presents a comprehensive resource on mechatronic components.

This book proposes a novel design method that combines both genetic programming (GP) to automatically explore the open-ended design space and bond graphs (BG) to unify design representations of multi-domain Mechatronic systems. Results show that the method, formally called GPBG method, can successfully design analogue filters, vibration absorbers, micro-electro-mechanical systems, and vehicle suspension systems, all in an automatic or semi-automatic way. It also investigates the very important issue of co-designing body-structures and dynamic controllers in automated design of Mechatronic systems.

The term Mechatronics is a combination of the words "mechanics" and "electronics". It is the blending of mechanical, electronic, and computer engineering into an integrated design and implementation. Mechatronics systems employ microprocessors and software as well as special-purpose electronics. The main objective of this interdisciplinary engineering field is the study of automated devices (e.g. robots) from an engineering perspective, thinking about the design of products and manufacturing processes. Today, mechatronics is having a significant and increasing impact on engineering - in the design, development, and operation of engineering systems. Mechatronics systems and products are well established in a great number of industries, such as the aircraft, automotive, computer, electronics, robotics/automation, manufacturing systems, computerized machine tools, communications, and biomedical industries. This book provides details on recent advances in mechatronics, and can be used as a guidebook for final undergraduate engineering courses (for example, mechanical, electronic, computer engineering) or as a reference to the subject of mechatronics at the postgraduate level. It can also serve as a useful reference for academics, mechatronics researchers, mechanical, electronic and computer engineers, and professionals in areas related to mechatronics and robotics.

Due to the enormous impact of mechatronics systems, we encounter mechatronics and micromechatronic systems in our daily activities. Recent trends and novel technologies in engineering have increased the emphasis on integrated analysis, design, and control. This book examines motion devices (actuators, motors, transducers and sensors), power electronics, controllers, and electronic solutions with the main emphasis placed on high-performance mechatronic systems. Analysis, design, optimization, control, and implementation issues, as well as a variety of enabling mechatronic systems and devices, are also covered. The results extend from the scope of mechatronic systems to the modern hardware-software developments, utilizing enabling solutions and placing the integrated system perspectives in favor of consistent engineering solutions. Mechatronics and Control of Electromechanical Systems facilitates comprehensive studies and covers the design aspects of mechatronic systems with high-performance motion devices. By combining traditional engineering topics and subjects with the latest technologies and developments, new advances are stimulated in design of state-of-the-art mechatronic systems. This book provides a deep understanding of the engineering underpinnings of integrated technologies.

This lecture provides an introduction to the field of mobile robotics and the intersection between multiple robotics-related disciplines including electrical, mechanical, computer, software engineering and computer science. It is intended for an upper-level undergraduate or first-year graduate students interested in mobile robotics and artificial intelligence with some experience in object-oriented programming and controls. Focus areas will include robotics history, hardware, control and software. Specific topics include robot components, effectors and actuators, locomotion, kinematics, sensors, feedback control, control architectures, representation, navigation, localization and mapping. The end of each chapter includes review questions as well as exercises to provide applications for the concepts as well as opportunities for further study.Table of Contents: Introduction / Hardware / Control / Software

This volume provides readers with the important information they need to understand the basic concepts of artificial intelligence as well as ways that both AI and robotics can be successfully incorporated into manufacturing, transportation, education, and medicine. More than 120 easy-to-understand entries, many with illustrations and hotographs to enhance understanding, cover topics related to such important concepts in artificial intelligence and robotics.