Typographic Design - Form and Communication by 
Design: Type by 
Thinking with Type, 2nd Revised and Expanded Edition by
The Ultimate Guide to Basic Typography
A Crash Course in Typography: Principles for Combining Typefaces
Typography design: Rules and terms every designer must know
75 Logo Fonts Every Designer Should Know About
Your Ultimate Guide to Fonts and Typography
Six Super Helpful Typography Cheat Sheets from WDL
Explore this interactive map/AI experiment by IDEO that uses machine learning to arrange hundreds of fonts and surface new relationships between them.
Brings together some of the most exciting independent type designers and foundries from around the world. Browse type design for branding to editorial design to websites and apps.
An archive that captures a glimpse into the history of graphic design.
Typography
typography design is the art of arranging a message in a readable and aesthetically pleasing composition.
The Elements of Typographic Style Applied to the Web: A practical guide to web typography by Richard Rutter
This book is a practical guide and companion reference to all aspects of typography on the web. It deftly combines implementation details with typographic theory, and is ideal for designers, developers and anyone else involved in the process of creating a website.
GCFGlobal
Open Educational Resources for Typography
Using Typography to Communicate
Oer commons Course
Typography, layout, and Graphic Design
information on fonts, layouts, and designs
"The Archive was founded by Rob Saunders, a collector of the letter arts for over 40 years, as a place to share his private collection with the public. We opened to visitors in February 2015 and now offer hands-on access to a curated collection of over 60,000 items related to lettering, typography, calligraphy, and graphic design, spanning thousands of years of history."
Pennstate
rules for typography in design
Typographica [advanced resource]
What’s Trending in Type
Ever find yourself stuck between two fonts? With Tiff, users can select two different fonts to overlay against one another, making it easy to spot the differences. You can even choose which letters you'd like to compare -- both capitalized and lowercase.
Typography design 101: a guide to rules and terms
A comprehensive guide to the anatomy of type
ATypI - Association Typographique Internationale
ATypI is the premier worldwide organisation dedicated to type and typography. Founded in 1957, ATypI provides the structure for communication, information and action amongst the international type community.
One of the world's largest font libraries; offering more than 4000 typefaces. Information about typography events, exhibitions, conferences, conventions and Linotype Library events are included. Click on 'Support' for a handy visual glossary of typographic terms from A to Z.
Contains information about typefaces from major typeface libraries, including Adobe, Agfa-Monotype, Berthold, Bitstream, Elsner+Flake, Font Bureau, FontFont, ITC, Letraset, Linotype, P22, and URW++.
Set up as an easy reference guide for the beginning typographer with links to font basics, recommendations, text formatting and more.
A Short Introduction to the History of Graphic Design
From the dawn of writing until today, including the development of handwriting, history of type faces, history of books, Arts & Crafts and the Private Press, Posters, Printing History, History of Advertising, The Bauhaus, Digital Design and Digital Typography. Created by Nancy Stock-Allen.
A personal selection of "classy, punk, professional, incomplete, and weird typefaces", Use & Modify provides open-source fonts that are free to use and...you guessed it, modify.
An enormous archive of freely downloadable fonts. Browse by alphabetical listing, by style, by author or by popularity.
Another extensive archive of free fonts, all free for commercial use.
Emotype is a curated collection of free fonts that allows you to search based on the emotions you want to convey on your website.
A good collection of free fonts, including display, script and symbol fonts, as well as blackletter, retro and non-Western styles.
Fontjoy helps designers choose the best font combinations. Mix and match different fonts for the perfect pairing.
Google Fonts — hundreds of free webfonts hosted via Google or self-hosted
open source fonts
Designed by Rasmus Andersson
Download free fonts from FontsLog.com. Biggest searchable database of free OpenType fonts, available in OpenType format for Windows & Mac. Preview fonts by typing your own text. We have handpicked and organized more than 30,000 free fonts.
Digital Typography (MIT OpenCourseWare)
This class introduces studies in the algorithmic manipulation of type as word, symbol, and form. Problems covered will include semantic filtering, inherently unstable letterforms, and spoken letters.
